Wedding Cake - Indian design

In 2014 I made my daughter and son in law’s wedding cake. They were off to India the following week so she chose an Indian themed cake. I found some photos online and did lots of research and practice. First I had to bake two of the tiers in Lemon drizzle recipe. My friend did the large base which was a fruit cake.

Then I had to ice the top two to get even smooth surfaces, and apply marzipan to the base cake. Next I found ready made purple fondant icing which I applied to a All tree tiers.

Then I had to assemble it using cake bases and rods to stabilise it and give it strength. Then the tricky part, the piping of the paisley and Indian design. I’d learnt how to do this via a “Craftsy” online course, and practised for days, but actually doing it for real on my daughter’s wedding cake was frightening to say the least. But soon my hand stopped shaking and I really got in the groove.
I only had about 2 days to assemble and decorate so you can imagine the stress! After piping in white icing I then had to paint it all with edible gold food colouring!!

As you can see, it was all worth the hard work. I must say I am very proud of this cake, but like her wedding dress that I also made - it’s a one off, never to be repeated!! 😃🍰🤪51A2F0A9-B5B6-4CBB-8318-2641D3FFCD4A.jpeg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center