Idea to promote tax awareness, in service industry purchases

I'm reading Adam Kokesh's ( @adamkokesh ) book "Freedom" and just started chapter 5, on taxes. This paragraph gave me the following idea. (Okay, well screw you Kindle Reader; if I can't copy from the text, then I'll take a screen capture!)

Specifically, it was the third sentence. Restaurants do business openly, and generally a tip is a larger percentage than the tax -- here it's 6.5% for the tax, and I generally tip 20%; more, if I frequent the place and have good rapport with the waiter.

So, here's the idea: from now on when I pay for a meal, on the receipt I will put a line through the tax portion, update the total to exclude the tax, then add a 26.5% tip, and write something like "I don't pay tax. You can choose to if you like, out of the tip."

I don't think there would be immediate legal consequences -- because I've given them more money than they asked for.

There could be future consequences, because my bank now knows how much I hold their industry in contempt.

Even so, I think I'll do this -- just as I spent a couple hundred dollars in the past few months on which I had variously written "WHO WAS SETH RICH?", "GOOGLE SETH RICH", and "HIS NAME WAS SETH RICH". The first of those I spent, the clerk at the convenience store got her phone out, took a picture, and posted it to social media! I thought that was pretty neat, although I didn't ask if she recognized the name.

What do you think? Does this sound like a good idea? Would you do it? Thanks!

Enjoy!




H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now