Invest In Yourself

I'm continually looking for ways to grow as a person, and part of that is building up my personal knowledge-base. The largest library in the world - the internet - is just a mouse-click away for anyone with even a touch of interest into learning new things.

Here on Hive for instance, we have a cadre of people who are willing to share knowledge in all manner of fields of study, and I really enjoy getting their take on subjects that I need more information about. And it's that seeking out that separates those who want to build on what they know from those willing to sit and let their brains stagnate.

As an American, I find it interesting to learn how foreigners manage to navigate their way throughout a daily life filled with obstacles and scarcity. I was watching a video online of a family from overseas marveling at the vast array of products on offer at a local supermarkets.

What? You mean every country doesn't have long isles packed with many different kinds of breakfast cereal lining both sides all the way to the end? When you live among that sort of abundance, you simply take it for granted that that's how everyone in the world lives until you learn otherwise.

Seeing my country through the eyes of a foreigner makes me appreciate those things that are considered normal for people here. You flick on a light switch and it always comes on (and on the rare occasion it doesn't, it's seen as some kind of weird aberration that the utility company damn sure better fix, and quickly!).

I had an Indian guy tell me recently that our food and water was considered "clean" as if that was something unusual for him. Because to him, it was...

So I always encourage my fellow Yanks (and anyone else really), to never stand still, and continue getting better as a person, because the "abundance pool" that we're swimming in isn't guaranteed to last forever.

I've invested in tools that help make me a better content creator not only here on Hive, but in portable skills that are useful on any platform. Communication across language barriers is another area I'm interested in, and I've added some tools to help with that considering the "stew-pot" that this country has long been growing into.

Speaking of light switches, I'm prepping for the day when you flick them, and they DON'T come on. Alternative forms of powering my devices is yet another area that I'm readying myself for when TSHTF.

Check out the video below about storing water in the event of an emergency. It's not something that many people think about, tending to focus mostly on food prep:

I recently learned more about the vital importance water storage. A number of things were new to me, as many people think about stocking up on food, but also assume that the taps will simply work when everything else stops.

The logistics of storing and moving water were illuminating to me, as well as keeping it pure and drinkable over time. I'm glad I had the interest in watching long-form media about this subject, and now feel even more prepared, just in case.

It's a long video, but worth a watch as it'll help you prep better when you may need it the most. Better to know it and not need it, than need it and not know it.

You can never have too muck knowledge about anything, so that's why I believe in cultivating a curious mind about a litany of subjects, because the absolute best thing you can invest in is yourself.

If you found this post informative or inspiring, please leave an upvote, comment or reblog. And if you haven't already: Join Hive!

Please check out my recent posts:


Image Credit: 1
Video Credit: 1

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now