You Don't Miss What You Haven't Had

I've been away from Hive for the past week due to an incredible string of positive experiences and all around good fortune (not necessarily of the monetary kind, but I digress). There's been a string of fortunate near-misses, where I've escaped the trouble that seems to have befallen so many others who've had so much more (material things, and people things) than me.

Count your blessings, right?

Speaking of which, I'm surrounded by people who suffer from various recurring ailments, but I've always been blessed with good health. Someone once asked me who was better off? They with their important circle of friends and bulging bank accounts, or me the escape artist who manages to avoid the worst of things, hasn't been ill most of my life, yet can't seem to string together the greenbacks to purchase that brand-new Land Rover?

Sometimes the grass isn't always greener on the other side.

While I grew up what I call "wealth adjacent," none of those riches were ever intended for me due to being born the "bastard" child. It's sort of like being the illegitimate half-brother of the kings son, and having a front-row seat inside the castle at all of the gifts being showered upon him.

But never being allowed to participate aside from cheering him on in the shadows.

In never felt poor though, know what I mean?

I never had those riches to miss...

Never had the huge retinue of friends and hangers-on that surrounded people like that, and have always been comfortable in my own skin, and with a small but tight circle of friends. However, I've seen those other kind of people loose their shit when the money dried up and the faux friends along with it.

Never had to deal with that either, having never dipped a toe in that vast but shallow pool of fetid water that looks oh-so-crystal-clear on the surface, but is so putrid to drink.

Nope, never had that. Don't miss it. I can't.

I have juuuuust enough to get by each and every day. But not too much that it would warp my perspective and alter my natural good nature and sense of fair play.

Don't allow yourself to be weighed down by an invisibility cloak of bitterness and envy. Instead, shine in your own light.

If I ever did come into great fortune and popularity I think I'd be able to handle it though. Like that guy in California Edwin Castro, that won what was it, $2.04 billion dollars in the powerball?

I'd likely give at least half of it away quietly as reports suggest that singer Prince did before he died. They say that he supported many people without any of them knowing the largess came from him.

I'd do something like that.

It would be so much fun sharing that without anyone having a clue as to where it came from. No public acknowledgment. Nothing. Just lighten as many loads as you can while remaining in the shadows.

That way they won't feel like they "owe" somebody, and can make progress with their dignity intact.

A lot of people have been dying here lately and tomorrow isn't guaranteed AT ALL. So spread as much light and love as you can before you end up kneeling in judgment in front of the one that made you.

Report after report shows that many successful people aren't happy despite having almost anything that they could want in the material world. I've shared before how surprised I was viewing a documentary on the very rich, to hear a woman worth over $350 million dollars, whose number 1 worry was that somehow, she'd lose it all.

Can you imagine?

Being that rich and you can't even enjoy it.

I haven't had that feeling either, as You Don't Miss What You Haven't Had, and I'm glad for that.

If you found this post informative or inspiring, please leave an upvote, comment or reblog. And if you haven't already: Join Hive!

Please check out my recent posts:


Image Credit: 1, 2

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now