The breathtaking beauty of the Santa Fe mountains

Having lived in so many places throughout my life, I have a really hard time answering the question: "where are your from?"

Do I say upstate NY, because that's where I was born (even though we left when I was only 2 years old)? Or do I say Espanola, New Mexico, where I went to elementary and middle school? Or Santa Fe, New Mexico where I went to high school and my family lives now. Or maybe its San Francisco, where I had my first real taste of independent adult life. Or should it be New Orleans, where I was most recently before deciding to run off to Europe? Lets not forget about that life-changing year in India at 15....I feel like all of these places contributed to who I am, without all of them I would be a completely different person. "Where are you from?" feels like a question asking "What made you, you?" and the answer to that is all of the above.

But if you were to force me to pick a place to call home, one that isn't my recently adopted Athens, I would have to pick the one that actually makes me feel homesick from time to time, and that would be Santa Fe. There is a peace I feel in Santa Fe that I've never been able to replicate. There is also a beauty that is ever awe inspiring. So today I'd like to share some photos from one of the most beautiful places in the world, the mountains of Hyde Memorial State Park in Santa Fe. I find it particularly magical in winter, and the winter months always make me miss it. Luckily there is plenty of beautiful nature to be had in Greece to get me by.

So to those of you who have moved many times, where do you consider home? Is it one place or a mix of places? Let me know in the comments.

All photos taken by me using an iphone (because Santa Fe is so beautiful even a camera phone can capture some amazing shots)

IMG_0172.JPG

IMG_3390.JPG

IMG_0173.JPG

IMG_3387.JPG

IMG_0134.JPG

IMG_3486-1.JPG

IMG_0133.JPG
.
.
.
Check out some more of my recent posts:
Wine and Music: Moerae (End/Vacantfield/Awe split) album review and wine pairing
Art: Portrait of my father in pencil
Travel: Cats from around the world.
Travel: New Orleans City Park
Art: discover your body week one, feet
Art: Lost in Moonlight, oil on canvas
.
.
.
Follow me for more travel, art, and music related content. Let me know you're following and I'll follow you back! :)
Terminal Blue: custom painting and design
Red Finch Virtual Assistance
Terminal Blue on Instagram
JewelrybyBazil on Instagram
Handmade natural stone and wire jewelry on Etsy

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center