Next-Door to Paradise, a More Magnificent Paradise … Lombok, Indonesia – Landscape Photography

The tiny and remote Indonesian island Gili Trawangan was rather crowded. So, when I left Trawangan and saw this amazing stretch of beach on the much larger island Lombok, I was surprised to see that it was virtually deserted. 

[Right-Click Here to Enlarge Photo]

Deserted beach, just across the water

For 10 days, I had stayed on Gili Trawangan, which is probably smaller than the bay in this photo. At any given time, there are probably a few thousand tourists on Trawangan. So, whether I was on the beach or in a restaurant, I was usually surrounded by people.    

When I returned to Lombok however, I passed many beaches that were almost deserted. In fact, many of the beaches on Lombok seemed more remote than those on Trawangan.   

No people, but lots of blue and lots of white

This quiet beach was on the western coast of Lomkok. My friend and I strolled along the beach for about 30 minutes, but we saw only a few people – maybe 10 or 20 people altogether.

But we saw lots of blue, and lots of white. There was the brilliant blue sky and the bright blue water … the soft white clouds and the silky white sand.

And it was virtually silent, except for the gentle waves lapping the shore and whispering as they trickled up the beach.

Location – Lombok, Indonesia, on Google Maps

This is my entry in @juliank’s Landscape Photography contest.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center