Have you seen Trams in Japan before? Learning something new and Praying at Sumiyoshi Taisha Shrine.


I did not know that trams are also a mode of transport that exist in Japan before visiting Sumiyoshi Taisha shrine in Osaka. I have visited Japan many times before and taken countless trains and buses yet I have not encountered trams anywhere.. until today!!!

 


Upon reaching Sumiyoshi Taisha via train, I saw that there were tracks on the road and wiring on the top that suggested that there might be trams operating. I only thought about this because I had just returned from Finland and taken the tram a couple of times there. But before actually witnessing a tram pass by, I thought that it might be possible that trams were used in the past in this town and are defunct, leaving the structure still there.

When an actual tram did pass by though, you should have been there to see the look of tramandous surprise I had on my face. 😲

 


I took more shots of other trams that went pass. I'm really not sure which other places in Japan have such transportation, I am thinking that it's quite rare. Anyone knows which other places in Japan have trams?

 


Our main itinerary of the day was to check out the Sumiyoshi Taisha Shrine. This was a place I did not check out before in past trips to Osaka so I was really excited to see how it looked like.

 


the building behind seems to have a 'samurai headdress shaped' roof

Stepping into the shrine, my immediate feel was that this place was really different. Different in comparison across other shrines I have visited, and also quickly different in the sense of air and atmosphere from which I stepped out from in the city.

 

 


I would describe the architecture of Sumiyoshi Taisha Shrine to be very Japanese and traditional. Compared to other shrines, this actually feels much 'older' and dated. I was reminded of the ancient structures that I built when playing Age of Empires when observing the Sumiyoshi Taisha Shrine.

 


very steep gradient

There was a bridge you could walk over to reach the shrine compounds and it was really one of the steepest I had seen. When you actually step on it it doesn't seem too dangerous, but steepness wise, it is indeed as steep as it looks. There are flatter ways to enter the compounds so no worries for those who have a lower fear inclination (heh).

 


I thought the dragon looked really nice

 


 

We walked all the way inside, donated and prayed across most of the specific points. There is a method and procedure when it comes to donating and praying and we hope we did it right.

Bow before the shrine
Toss the coin into the box
Ring the bell (if there is)
Bow twice
Clap hands together twice
Pray
Bow before the shrine again

 


We observed other people's praying style but it seemed that everyone had a slightly different way. Some with additional bows inserted and different timings of the clap. We hope we did not stray too far from the standard procedure, but our prayers were sincere so I think that is the most important.

 


I think that if you have some extra time when visiting Osaka and want to get out of the hustle and bustle of Dotonbori temporarily, Sumiyoshi Taisha shrine might just be your getaway. It has an interesting traditional and rustic feel and you can relax and stroll along the shrine grounds at your own pace.


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://seanytan.vornix.blog/2018/07/16/have-you-seen-trams-in-japan-before-learning-something-new-and-praying-at-sumiyoshi-taisha-shrine/

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center