Faking Perfect - Where has all my steem gone?

Unless someone is blowing steam I hear this is the place to be?

IMG_1779.JPG

The place to share a voice, get fresh new insights and opinions and generally build steam into areas that interest me and others- to add value ... no more location, location but collaboration, collaboration - perfect!

But talking about location ... here's what's behind my arrival 'The Shed' a new private venture to be set in the rolling hillside of Yorkshire, a self-help out reach post for mental health, healing and positive action. My labour of love.

IMG_1531.JPG

I'm a lady so no need to give my age ;-) but let's just say I have years to back up my thoughts, the Yorkshire blood to say it bluntly and backed up by my Sagittarius fire sign ... and go by the nickname DJ or Dr Zoe for those who feel better for it. I'm an ex-academic in organisational change, ex-IBMer, author in Self-help (and one naughty text under a ghost writer name) but most importantly single-mother of two grown-ups.

I've survived a tumour, a divorce and the recession - can I survive here?

I'd like to let off steam about the deep and meaningful; those thoughts, beliefs and values that drive our behaviour and impact our sense of self - what's mentally hidden and often emotionally shown. I'd love to gain the support, input and momentum of those who 'just know' and have value to add to a meaningful and highly sensitive subject; suicide among other issues and triggers that lead to it.

I think it's time we all asked ourselves 'am I faking perfect?'

IMG_1770.JPG

Are we always showing a 'brave face?'

Screen Shot 2017-08-24 at 14.36.25.png

With today's incredible technology and power to communicate there has never been a time like this to feel like you're just not losing your own steam, not cutting it or think you're just not good enough - that you can't get through or live another day. That there is no light during a period of darkness and exhausted by no end in sight.

There's never been more ever present pressure to be 'perfect' and there's certainly never been a time like this when so many are 'faking' it for all to see or hide behind.

New groups are shooting up everywhere. New companies are emerging, all in a bid to fight the rise in suicide and battle the mental health challenges that do not discriminate age, gender, status or even sexual orientation ... we are all susceptible and there is lots more we can do. This isn't new, but it does appear to be growing and the new social addictions to presenting the perfect life, body or being is helping to fuel it.

I'd love to; with your support - continue to raise awareness of what it is, how to spot it and how we can all help.

If you want to check out more details on The Shed project, please do so here http://yellowbrick.org.uk/the-shed-rishworth-yorkshire

I really hope I've got this whole #introduceyourself right - if not, please remember no one is Feking Perfect :-)

Steem-out DJxx

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center