AWESOME! 100 FOLLOWERS + upcoming trip to CAMBODIA

Face 1steemit.jpg

Cambodia, here I come!

First of all, thanks to the Steemit community! My account has reached the first milestone; a hundred followers! I love that this community is full of fellow travelers and photographers. I've read amazing travel stories, seen fantastic photos and noticed how Steemit users greatly support each other. Hopefully, Steemit will keep on growing in the future, it surely has the right features to do so!

Secondly, I'd like to cover my itinerary for my upcoming one month trip to Cambodia. I'll be leaving on the 21st of January and coming back on the 21st of February. Cambodia had been on the top of my list of countries to visit, mostly because of the Angkor temples and the beautiful scenery. And the time has come for me to finally go and be mesmerized by what this great country has to offer.

FLIGHT DETAILS: I booked a two-way ticket from Brussels to Bangkok (Suvarnabhumi Airport). The next day I'll be flying from Bangkok (Don Mueang Airport) to Phnom Penh. The reason I do this instead of a two-way ticket to Phnom Penh is simply that it's cheaper and I like to travel overland because you can see so much more of the scenery on a bus/train. So on the way back from Siem Reap (my last stop in Cambodia), I'll be traveling overland from Siem Reap back to Bangkok (Suvarnabhumi Airport). I'll write a post about this last part, once I'm back, to give the full details of how, where and when.

This trip will consist of four parts.
Part 1: SIHANOUKVILLE
Right after I land in Phnom Penh, I'll be taking a bus to the South of Cambodia. But since this bus ride is going to take too long to take the ferry to the island afterward as well, I have no choice but to stay at least one night in Sihanoukville. I've decided I'll be staying a couple of days in Sihanoukville to see the beaches, the nightlife, and the city life.

Part 2: KOH RONG SAMLOEM ISLAND
This is what I wish I could call home; islands! There's nothing like being on a small island; beaches everywhere, sand between your toes the entire day, beautiful sunrises and sunsets, and everything within walking distance. Oh, and that wonderful feeling of waking up, opening your cabin door and immediately seeing the ocean. An inevitable part of any trip of mine to a country with beach access.

Part 3: PHNOM PENH
On the way from the south to Siem Reap, I'll do a stopover for a couple of days in Phnom Penh. A couple of temples I plan to visit are the Royal Palace and the Silver Pagoda, the Saravoan Pagoda, Wat Ounalom and Wat Phnom. Besides visiting temples, I plan on taking a stroll on the Sisowath Quay, a boulevard in the busy part of the city, next to the river. And of course, we can't forget the horrible times Cambodia has been through. So to honor that I'll definitely visit the Tuol Sleng Museum and the Choeung Ek Killing Field. After my stay in Phnom Penh, I'll travel to Siem Reap by boat over the Tonlé Sap Lake.

Part 4: SIEM REAP
La moment suprême: the Angkor temples! This will probably take a couple of days to see the whole site. Some other temples in the city itself: Preah Ang Chek Preah Ang Chorm, Wat Damnak, Wat Po Lanka, Wat Preah An Kau Saa, Wat Preah An Kau Sai and Phnom Krom are also on the list. If I get tired of seeing temples, I plan on visiting the Cambodian Cultural Village. And at the end of the day, I don't think I'll have a problem finding a good drink on Pub Street.

That's a summary of my plan. A plan is just a plan; we'll see how everything goes exactly. But I very much look forward to this trip! And I'll be checking in on Steemit as much as possible so stay tuned!

Any tips on visiting Cambodia or places I haven't covered in this summary are highly welcome!

52727192.jpg
photo from Lonely Planet (I'll make my own once I'm there;))

If you want to travel with me to Cambodia,
just click the Follow button;)

======================================

Check out some of my travel posts here:

SCOTLAND
ROAD TRIP PARADISE // Travel Photography

THAILAND
THE GRAND PALACE pt2 // Travel Photography
THE GRAND PALACE // Travel Photography
RAILAY GREAT VIEW RESORT // My breathtaking stay in Krabi
PENINSULA OF RAILAY // Visiting tropical Railay in Krabi

MOROCCO
THE ATLAS MOUNTAINS // Visiting the mountain village of Imlil
BEN YOUSSEF MADRASA // Travel Photography

See you next time and keep steeming! :)



Visit my portfolio on
Dreamstime

Shutterstock
Bigstock
DepositPhotos

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center