How I transitioned from Oil Field Misery to Mexican Freedom, The Better Way

I once believed that money could buy happiness. Boy was I wrong 😅

I followed the mainstream path that was "recommended" - get a job, go to college to get a better job, buy a house, buy another house, next step was marriage and have kids right? Sound familiar.... There's a better way.

My line in the sand moment was when, after crunching numbers, I realized that I had paid over $1 Million in taxes before I was 28. The immediate thought was - Where did all that money go? There's a better way.

656E8308-EB30-4754-B06D-CB8BAAE9287C.jpeg

I had done very well, was top 1% in the country as far as career and salary goes, but sacrificed my happiness to achieve it. Although I had nothing to complain about, there was a gaping hole in my heart. Living a life of solitude in a Northern Alberta camp, pretending to be someone I wasn't just for a paycheck. There's a better way.

There's a better way... I couldn't get this thought out of my head.

My journey of discover began, I sold all the belongings that I had accrued over the years and started investing in Bitcoin and Digital Assets. This was 2016/17, and before long I really started to believe that there was a better way. The 2018 crash was a big reality check, but the communities and the teams that stuck through the mess had caught my attention.

IMG_0249.jpeg

No longer was I just in crypto for profits, but for the solutions that come with the space.

The communities that came together with the idea that "we can achieve far more together than we can apart" and it became my mantra. I started feeling invincible against whatever the world threw at me, from Covid to Government Overreach, it was simply another hurdle to cross.

Taking Profit.jpg

We created Simple Wealth Academy to help others who were eager to learn and wanting a similar path. Documenting the journey, what to avoid and where to focus. Since that day we have helped somewhere between 4 and 6 Thousand people gain exposure to Bitcoin, and a good handful have completely changed the direction of their lives for the better.

Cory Machen Simple.jpg

I moved to Mexico full time in early 2019 and haven't stopped since, Self Sustaining Economies and Communities being the next big focus.

Crypto will only get you so far without being able to buy the goods and services you need locally and internationally.... so we're building that bridge. There is a better way 😉

Facebook and social media were the next to go, censorship and totalitarian control being the next big hurdle. But, here I am, unfazed and stoked for the opportunity to take part in something greater.

A BIG Thank you to everyone here who makes HIVE what it is today and what it will be in the future 😊 I'm incredibly excited to be here, and share in the beauty that is life with cryptocurrency.

IMG_0333.jpeg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center