An Introduction To Me, Or How I Survive As A 29/yo Retired Snowbird

Hello :) Im Jessica.

steemit2.jpg

On the surface, my lifestyle has been suspiciously similar to my grandparents' in recent years. I have worked very little in the traditional sense, summered in Minnesota where I hatched 29 years ago, and then fled to warmer climates by late autumn.

Them: Phoenix, Arizona retirement complex. 65+ is a must. Shuffleboard: taken pretty seriously by the community.

Me: México. Spain. Morocco. New Zealand. Fluctuating levels of credit card debt and mild poverty-induced weight loss. Ever-expanding interior world and passion for birdwatching.

How do I do it?

  1. I work seasonally (summers only) as a baggage handler for an airline in Minnesota, and I am able to get cheap flights year round.
  2. I prioritize new experiences over possessions (apart from music equipment) and career stability/a 401k -- will I regret this? Ha.
  3. I travel non-luxuriously by working odd jobs and in exchange for food/accommodation. I sleep in a tent whenever possible. I also make websites -- check out @jessandthesea's http://sexonsundaze.com :)

I just set down some baby roots, however, with my wildly beautiful and talented partner, @amyinautumn. We've been traveling and playing music together for a few years and decided to build a nest in Minneapolis for the upcoming year (aka we signed a lease!). I'll finish handling bags in October, and then I plan to devote lots of time to our music projects: Bathing Belles, and possibly a couple new collaborations with fellow Minneapolis residents.

bbs.jpg

I'll hopefully be able to survive by contract web design/development jobs and perhaps some casual captioning/transcription work. I plan to visit @jessandthesea in Mexico for a month or so when the cold becomes unbearable here, but no long excursions planned for this winter. Staying in one place with access to the resources/equipment I've built up over the years = no excuses, and giving myself the best chance to be creative and make things that I feel proud of. ❤

I am excited to have found this new community of likeminded digital friends here on Steemit, where we can all share our successes and failures along the way.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now