Hi Everyone, I'm on Hive!

Hi everyone, my name is Lorenzo.

I come from Italy (from Romagna to be precise!), and I am now located in Kraków, Poland. Last weekend I met many Hivers at #hivebeecon and there I was pushed by @blind-spot to publish about Economics on the Hive blockchain. The same advice was then reiterated by @priyanarc and @livinguktaiwan. After so much nudging, I eventually got convinced, So here I am!


000035.JPGMe looking at Croatia from my hometown in Romagna. [Shot by @edwinedwin on Fomapan 200]


As an active member of @krolestwo in Kraków, I am already somewhat active on the Hive blockchain with @lpa, where I organise bookclub meetings at @krolestwo, and @jaktak where I publish a diary in broken polish.

However, my posts have always been very sporadic, seldom about Economics and - most importantly - I have never introduced myself! So, here I am with a fresh new account that will entirely focus on economic content.


About Myself:

As already mentioned, I was born in Romagna, but my many adventures allowed me to live in several different places. My studies in Economics first brought me to the north of Italy, then in Vienna for a while, and finally to the United Kingdom for my Master’s studies.


historic-bw-photos-of-milan-italy-in-19th-century-02.jpgSome of you may recognise the city where I completed my Bachelor's degree. [Postcard from the 19th century. Should be Public Domain by now!]


My empirical experience suggests that Italy, Argentina and Greece (not incidentally all countries facing economic hurdles) produce a relatively higher per capita amount of macroeconomists.[1] Macroeconomics is indeed very popular in Italy, much more than I could observe in the UK or Poland. I myself, got very much fascinated by macroeconomic concepts, particularly by theories around money: inflation, interest rates and central banking. And that is what I ended up studying.

At the time of my studies these topics were of interest only for a niche of the population, however with double-digit inflation rates more people started to engage with them. To the point of being asked to write about it on Hive![2]

After university, I moved to Poland where for the past three years I have been involved in stress-testing within the banking sector, thus I also have some knowledge in credit risk. Although I am not sure how much I will write much about the risks in bank lending on Hive. But who knows!


XP2-33.jpgIt can get very cold in Kraków, but the city is beautiful [Shot by myself on Ilford HP5]


Some two years ago I entered @krolestwo for the first time and there @hallmann introduced me to Hive and its blockchain. I became very fond of the Kingdom. Particularly for the help it provided me in learning the Polish language and the lovely people I met there.

Last weekend, I also had the pleasure of meeting Hivers from all over the globe: a hello to @edje, @livinguktaiwan, @mipiano, @ph1102, @phortun, @delishtreats, @evelynchacin, @growandbow, @gtg, @zirochka and the others I have met, but whose username I cannot remember. It was nice speaking with you and hope you will find some interest in reading my posts about Economics!




  1. Of course my empirical observations have no validity, so don't take it seriously! There is some data on graduates by faculties and country in the OECD Database, but it is not showing graduates as percentage of the total population nor it does account for international students. Also, the discipline of economics is merged with other social sciences. That said, I could still try to work on the data and see if my theory is somewhat based in reality.

  2. Though Hive itself is quite a niche too!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now