On the surprising complexities of making an egg mayo sandwich...

So I made myself an egg mayonnaise sandwich for lunch the other day.

It's one of my favourite 'classic' old school sandwiches, but I got to thinking just how much stuff one needs to make them, it's a surprisingly complex process for what is maybe mistakenly regarded as a simple sandwich.

It's as much a matter of the equipment as it is the ingredients themselves.

Egg Mayo Sandwich ingredients List...

  • Eggs (I mean let us start with the obvious!)
  • Mayonnaise (or salad cream). This is NOT the place to have THAT debate!
  • spring onions
  • hot sauce
  • salt
  • pepper
  • bread
  • butter.

20240717_210625.jpg
Just some of the ingredients!

I mean that's EIGHT ingredients, which is getting on for a simple dinner!

Egg Mayo sandwich equipment list...

  • pan for boiling water
  • kettle given that no one can be arsed waiting for the water to boil in the pan
  • bowl for mashing the eggs.
  • fork for mashing
  • spoon for scraping out of the bowl.
  • knife for chopping and another for spreading the butter
  • tin foil for the sandwiches (probably more than any other sandwich this one requires considerable compression, neatly provided by tin foil!
  • chopping board.

20240717_210158.jpg

Just some of the equipment

On the surprising complexities of making an egg mayo sandwich final thoughts....

I mean it's still all relatively simply, but it is QUITE a lot of hassle to make these sandwiches.

What I'm minded of is just how much we take cooking even simple things for granted. This is simple, I'm not saying it's complex, my point is that even this relatively simply meal is, on reflection, full of several processes!

What made me reflect on this was that I made this particular sandwich the evening before for the day after, and so after dinner and tidying, and then it really struck me just how long the whole process took, so I had to acknowledge this somehow, hence this post!

Totally worth it of course!

20240717_211054.jpg

And, oh, I may not have used butter in the end, on a bit of a health mission this week!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center