THE POPULAR NIGERIAN FOOD, JELLOF RICE.. PICTORIALS ON HOW TO MAKE IT. DO ENJOY!

IMG_3449.PNG

Hi everybody, welcome to my blog. Lol, you will ask why a food post?I am a food lover and I am also considering adding a few recordings/videos to my YouTube channel and make it official, aside being a psychologist ,I am a nature and food lover... I have tried making different foods . Lol, some come out okay and some not so okay cos they aren't our local foods. However,that won't stop me from continuing with this amazing passion. Let me stop rambling and get on to the business of the day or night depending on where you are. :)

I will be showing a step by step tutorial on how to make jellof rice. First what is Jellof rice... Jellof rice is a local rice being cooked by Africans and all have their different ways/methods of preparation. Mine is the typical Nigerian Jellof rice which is popular that if there is no Jellof rice in a party, I guess such party is incomplete.

Ingredients needed with picture/Non pictures, forgot to take a shot of some of the ingredients.

Onions IMG_3432.PNG PS: I used a lot of onions, this was taken for a particular preparation.

Salt IMG_3453.PNG

Pepper (Habanero pepper, green, red and yellow ball peppers) IMG_3426.PNG IMG_3422.PNG

Seasoning cubes (Maggi chicken flavor)IMG_3456.PNG

Groundnut oil/sunflower oil, anyone you can get hold of. Here I used mamador IMG_3457.PNG

Nutmeg.IMG_3459.PNG

ThymeIMG_3455.PNG

CurryIMG_3454.PNG

The following I couldn't take a picture of them, Totally forgot army guests where approaching and I needed to get everything read and prepare myself also. (Sweet corn, green pea, chopped carrot, spring onions).

parboiled rice.

Tin tomatoes/Tomato paste.IMG_3430.PNG

water.

Preparations;

Wash and Chop onions, ball peppers, carrots, spring onions set them aside.
Wash your preferred meat, here I used chicken and turkey.
Blend your Ball peppers, onions, habanero pepper, thyme, curry, Seasoning cubes, I guess you are wondering why I blended the thyme, seasoning cubes and curry, i always do that to properly mix the ingredients. Here is a picture below of what I meant.IMG_3420.PNG
IMG_3421.PNG

Here's a picture of curry being added to the mix

IMG_3452.PNG

The mixture after blending.

IMG_3427.PNG

Pour the blended mixture in an already washed turkey and chicken meat.

IMG_3428.PNG

cover the pot and shake it so the ingredients will penetrate inside the meat. Below is a picture

IMG_3429.PNG

if you are cooking it immediately, put the meat in a freezer and allow it to marinate for at least 20mins. I allowed mine over night.

Bring out the meat from the freezer and place it on a medium heat to boil. The outcome is below.

IMG_3436.PNG

I don't fry my meat, here it is in the ovenIMG_3448.PNG

Left it for 15mins and brought it down, don't want it to be extremely dry.

As the meat is boiling, i brought another clean pot and placed it on a low heat where I can fry my tomatoe paste to dry, if not the food will come out with a funny taste. IMG_3431.PNG

after 70secs of allowing the oil to be hot a bit, I added an already chopped onions and stir fried it for 20secs IMG_3433.PNG

Added the tomato paste and allow to boil/fry on a low heat. IMG_3435.PNG

That aside I put another put on fire and added little oil, allowed it for some secs added Onions, green, yellow and red ball peppers. Below are pictures. IMG_3438.PNGIMG_3440.PNG

Add the already dried/fried tomato paste IMG_3444.PNG

Add the chicken stock and allow it to boil

IMG_3445.PNG

once the stock is boiling add the parboiled rice, allow it to boil for 10mins, add the sweet corn, green pea , chopped carrot and the rest. Leave for 5 mins and bring it down.

IMG_3460.PNG

At this point I couldn't take anymore pictures reason being that my guest where already arriving and I had to quickly shower and prepare for their arival. Here is the completed food with salad and chicken by the side.
IMG_3449.PNG

Here is me about munching the food before I jumped into the bathroom. Lol.

IMG_3458.PNG

Come join me and which other food would you want me to try out? Comment below.

All pictures were taken with an iPad and techno cx.

Happy new year :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center