Taking a Model 921 Pressure Canner For A Spin

As I walk through the valley of the shadow of certain canning death, I will fear no evil or that my pressure canner will morph into a small version of the Little Boy.

I bought this (gently used) pressure canner  about 2 years ago. It's a huge upgrade from using a simple water-bath method to preserve food and is extremely versatile.

In canning, there are 2 methods which are predominately used. The method chosen is dependent on whether the food being preserved is a high acid food or a low acid food. High acid foods can be safely preserved using a simple water-bath method (which I am most familiar with). Low acid foods require heat, under specific pressure, for a specific amount of time to preserve the food without the risk of growing botulinum spores. (Today is the first time that I will be attempting to use the pressure canning method.)

Botulinum Spores Are Toxic And Can Cause a Condition Called Botulism Which Can Be Deadly

High acid foods include:

  • tomatoes with the addition of lemon juice;
  • fruits;
  • pickles;
  • jams;
  • chutneys;
  • and jellies.

Generally these food items have vinegar or lemon juice added to them and contain a ph of 4.6 or lower.

Low acid foods include:

  • meat;
  • poultry;
  • seafood;
  • some varieties of tomatoes;
  • and vegetables.

Generally these food items don't contain any natural acids and they have a ph higher than 4.6.

As I am teaching myself how to do this, I first, checked to see if I'm covered for large explosions on my household home insurance policy.

Not kidding!

Some wise person said that you should challenge yourself every day by doing something that scares you.

Well folks, this is that "something, something" that scares the living daylights out of me.

I am entering into this with the full knowledge that if I don't do this properly, I could in fact, blow my entire kitchen to smithereens! 

I decided to do this pressure canning job outside, hooked up to an external propane source for this reason.

I now understand why my great grandparents were so found of summer kitchens for a few reasons...first it protects the rest of the house from certain disaster, like fire and explosions and it keeps the heat contained and as a result the house will remain cooler when you are undertaking "big batch" cooking projects.

Wish Me Luck As I Dance With Fire, Glass And Pressure Today

I welcome your comments and I invite you to follow me on my journey today...it may be the last day that I have eyebrows. :D


 

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center