Black Soilder Fly Larva Updates

So I have had this ibc tote bin running for a week now and I just spilt it today into 2 bins using the top half of the ibc tote since I had so many larva. I started this bin using some old goat feed that had just enough mold in it I could not use it for my goats but it worked great to attract BSF. After that I add some wheat bran I have for my mealworms and then moved on to adding some fish skins and produce waste. These guys eat so much waste and so very fast. This bin I made from just stuff I had here on the homestead. I grabbed some pvc pipe I had and made ramps for the larva to self harvest into the buckets.

20190612_121200.jpg

This has worked out great so far and I already have some harvesting into the buckets. The flies have been around pretty often laying eggs in the cardboard bunches you see tied to the sides of the bins and rolled up on top of the produce crate sitting in the bin.

20190612_121238.jpg

You can see their are lots of them in the bin. I am even surprised in a new bin how many I was able to attract. This is a mahi skin I tossed in 10 minutes before taking this picture.

20190611_091333.jpg

Here are some in the other bin on some produce I had left over from my worm bins.

20190612_121245.jpg

These guys will produce a very nice high quality self harvesting livestock feed for my fowl and hogs off of waste I would not be feeding my worms anyways. On top of it they also produce a quality frass that I can used to feed my worms from food that I would not be feeding them. BSFL frass is one of the top feedstocks for a worm bin to produce quality castings with fast growing worms and worm populations. These were probably one of the easiest and fastest type of bins I have setup with the lowest cost of time.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center