Finishing the Rhubarb Marmalade - June 9, 2020 @goldenoakfarm

Helen Johnson's Rhubarb Marmalade crop 1995.jpg

Back on June 4th I started 3 batches of rhubarb marmalade and put the bowls in the fridge in the cellar.

Well, you know, “out of sight, out of mind”, they were still there when my brother called on Monday afternoon to ask how my marmalade turned out.

Rhubarb marmalade cooking crop June 2020.jpg

So I was bound and determined to finish it on Tuesday afternoon. My helper friend brought the bowls upstairs and said somehow one had gotten uncovered. That one had lost some of its liquid but the other 2 had plenty. It also looked like they had started to ferment a bit!

I put them all together in a low flat pan as the idea is to thicken the sauce and promote gelling. I got the jars started, and as the recipe said it made (4) 1 cup jars and I had 3 batches, I’d need 12 jars. I had gotten jars at the estate sale on Saturday and there were 4 pints and a bunch of 1 cup jelly jars. I put them all in the canner to sterilize and set an equal number of lids and rings to sterilize in a separate pan.

I cooked the sauce for 35 minutes and it was nice and thick, so I took it off the heat while I waited for the lids to finish heating. I guess I thickened it plenty because I only got 4 pints and while filling the last pint, it was gelling on the bottom of the pan.

Rhubarb marmalade cooling crop June 2020.jpg

I processed them for 12 minutes and set them to cool. I’ve not yet tried one. I’d made several changes to the way my brother made his, so I’m curious how it turned out.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now