This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Rhubarb Marmalade, Part I - June 4, 2020 @goldenoakfarm

Helen Johnson's Rhubarb Marmalade crop 1995.jpg

When I was down at my brother’s last, he sent me home with some rhubarb marmalade he had made. I don’t like marmalade as a rule, but this was wonderful!

So I asked him for the recipe and he sent this photo. When my son was small, a neighbor of theirs took an interest in him and became Granny Helen. This is her recipe. She has long since passed, but she is still spoken of often.

Rhubarb marmalade  chopping rhubarb quart crop June 2020.jpg

The ingredients:

4 cups rhubarb, thinly sliced
1 lemon, rind removed and thinly sliced
Juice from the lemon
2½ cups sugar

On Thursday I had lots of rhubarb to use up, so I decided to make 3 batches. I’d fill a quart measuring cup with the 1” pieces.

Rhubarb marmalade  slice lemon rind crop June 2020.jpg

Doing the rind was a bit harder. I peeled the lemon like an orange and then sliced off most of the white before cutting it into very thin slices and cutting them into ½” – 1” pieces.

My brother said he’d used a vegetable peeler and cut his off that way, while on the lemon. But his marmalade had remained more like sauce, not set up well. So I left a bit on mine, for the pectin.

Rhubarb marmalade  rhubarb with sugar crop June 2020.jpg

He had cut the sugar by ¼ cup, using 2¼ cups. It was still much too sweet. So I decided to use 1½ cups of organic sugar.

Rhubarb marmalade  mixed crop June 2020.jpg

The next step is to mix it all together and let it set overnight. Mine will probably set a bit longer as Friday and Saturday are wicked busy. It is covered in the fridge.

So you will have to stay tuned to see how it turns out….