Poke-Weed Wild Edibles

I have had more than one heated debate on the edibility of this plant.
I'm not going to attempt to persuade anyone one way or the other, but for myself I hold this wild edible in high esteem.

pokeshoot.jpg
(Google Image)

I have many fond memories of afternoons spent with my grandmother hunting this jewel of the wild down,

both of us with shopping bags in hand, followed closely by her dogs. She not only taught me how to identify and gather it, but to cook it as well.

When I go to cook me up a mess of poke weed, I go for young shoots or small leaves with shoots being my favorite. Both are well worth any amount of effort.

To date, poke-weed is my most beloved wild green, not only for its kingly flavor, but because of the easy identification for beginners and also ease of harvest, not needing to bend down for it like dandelions.

Many people enjoy it with eggs, whether scrambled or in an omelet. It is more than capable though as a stand alone side. As with most wild edibles, a little on your plate goes a long way, though you will be surprised how much raw leaf is needed.

A shopping bag is the minimum amount in my mind.

our poke.jpg

Now the debate stems from the fact that it contains tropane, being in the nightshade family, which is poisonous in large quantities, but people seem to ignore that potatoes and tomatoes are also in this family. This is a risk that you will have to decide whether to take for yourself..

The cooking method I was taught to use is said to neutralize this risk.
First, as with all produce bought in a store or picked in the wild, it needs to be rinsed well.
Then bring it to a boil in salt water three times, straining in between. Then use as you wish!

For us, if it's to be a stand alone side, we saute it up in a little bit of oil and serve.

I have eaten this many, many times, from childhood to now. It's one of my favorite foods, especially in early spring after a long winter.

Have fun and enjoy!

-'The Digger'

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now