Packing for Hivefest

There are only a couple of days until I set off for Amsterdam to attend the first in-person @Hivefest. I have booked my event ticket, hotel and train, although there was some issue with the latter. The train company told me the train connection from Brussels was cancelled, but Eurostar still showed it. I have booked an alternative, just in case. @edb has reported that a planned train strike has been called off, so maybe the original one will run anyway. I will get there somehow or other.

Guitar

One extra thing I am bringing is a guitar. At the previous events for 'the other chain' I took a ukulele as I was flying with limited baggage allowance, but I think I can get away with taking a guitar on the train. I will be up for jamming with people, but I may also be performing as part of one of the talks.

I have posted many times about my guitar pick collection. If anyone has some old ones lying around that they are happy to get rid of then I will be happy to take them. I am more into variety than rarity or them being used by a famous player.

I will also be bringing my running kit. I was looking at doing the Amsterdam parkrun, but I am not sure there will be time unless I want to miss a few of the talks. I may still run early on Friday and on Sunday morning if anyone wants to join me. I am staying at the Volkshotel, so will look for routes around there.

Other than that I will try to travel light. Of course I need a few gadgets for entertainment on the journey. My tablet and headphones are essential. Can you see my pick collection?

Gadgets

The schedule looks pretty full, but there will be plenty of time to just talk to people. These events are very social and I always say that the bandwidth of in-person conversations always beats talking on-line.

I will just try to not overdo it and lose my voice too early. Pacing yourself on the drinks is important too.

Having been to previous events I have met quite a few people before and it will be good to see them again, but I also look forward to meeting many others for the first time. I know a fair few will never have been to something like this before and I know it can be overwhelming. We just need to give them a warm welcome.

See you all in Amsterdam!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center