Follow Friday: Billions!

The News

A lot of people were understandably excited when Coinmarketcap was showing this. Of course it was too good to be true and it soon reverted to the real price. It was nice to feel like a billionaire for a few minutes.

$HIVE

The current price is not too bad considering it is around ten times what we had at the start of the year.

Prices

There is a #HiveAdventCalendar on Twitter. Check it out for suggestions of things you can be doing to support the platform.

The latest is about your goals for next year. I have been adding around 1000 HP per month to my account through posting, curation and what I have made from games and tribes. I also bought some, but that will be less viable if the price keeps going up. I hope to maintain that rate through 2022. I also want to get a lot more people signed up to Hive. I have claimed lots of account creation tokens that I am keen to use. If you know someone who wants an account let me know, but I would really like to see that they are active on other platforms.

Friday Followings

I keep looking out for people to feature. I have known some of these for a while, but suggestions are always welcome and you can do your own #FollowFriday posts.

  • @consciouscat joined a few months ago and seems to have the right idea about what Hive is.
  • @run.vince.run has written a book about running that I am sure will be inspirational. Could be a great Christmas present.
  • I keep searching for people to add to the #BritList and @magnauseum was a recent one. They are still getting to know how this all works, but have already found some of the games.
  • @basilmarples entertained me this week with a fun back story for a Punks on Hive character and some cool music jams happening at his place.
  • The prolific @soundlegion has put out a great set of songs that you can download for free.

These people will get a share of the post rewards.

The Doghouse

We had another case of someone creating lots of junk comments to self-vote. Luckily it was spotted and dealt with quickly. A higher $HIVE price makes it less viable to create lots of accounts with HP, but we are still likely to see this happen. People are looking out for it.

Something else I have seen is people using the @exhaust dapp to post about their exercise, but not taking any effort to actually say anything about it. That seems ironic if they are willing to expend energy in other ways. The developer is looking at ways to discourage this. Currently they may get an automatic vote, but that could change. Rewards need to be earned.

We get to decide who earns rewards on Hive. If it does have rapid growth we are likely to see people churning out low effort posts in hope of earning. Even if you do not want to downvote you can still concentrate on supporting the good stuff that will bring in others.

The End

We are rapidly approaching the end of the year. I hope it has been a good one for you, despite the ongoing issues. Maybe 2022 can be better. I do feel that Hive is on the cusp of breaking out with all the exciting developments going on. We can all be part of that and should be looking to help others join it too.

Hive five!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now