Hive, Where Information Is Just A Click Away

One of the benefits of being here since the inception of the old Steemit days, is you get to see the evolution of the community over time. And what I've seen is that we've grown into a rich and vibrant community filled with people versed in all manner of knowledge. And more importantly, willing to share what they know with the world.

I can still recall the trouble I had trying to understand liquidity pools when it was a new concept to me. What seems so simple now, confounded me at the time, as many people at the time were talking in what I call 'Crypto-Speak.' But after reading post after post, I finally found one that explained LP in a way that us mere mortals (Muggles), could understand, and that's when I finally got it.

There's so many smart people here who know things that I don't know, and it's a blessing to run across an informative post that breaks it all down step-by-step. And I'm not talking about just crypto either, but an entire cornucopia of information right at your fingertips. I read an interesting article a few weeks ago from a guy who knows a lot about the history of the Roman Empire.

It all caught my eye on Hive.

Leo Glossary (is that still around?) is a great little pit stop to to get a quick explanation of financial terms that you can weave into your articles when you're looking for just the right word.

With Hive tribe members all over the world, there's bound to be somebody that can share a first-hand perspective of a breaking news story. I woke up the other day to the news of the sudden demise of artist Liam Payne in Argentina. Browsing through the news accounts, I couldn't help but wonder "I'll bet we have someone in that area right now." And we probably did.

We're a global cohort of talented writers, artists, and information-sharers that are experts in their fields of study. Take food for instance. With me, you're looking at a guy who once went out, bought an expensive steak, threw it in the pan on high and then went to sleep. Only to wake up with the place full of smoke, and a pan with one pretty useless steak. So don't look to me for cooking advice! :)

But scan some Hive posts, and you'll find person after person sharing delicious recipes step-by-step. Back in the Steemit days, I used to follow several Steemians who wrote about the markets. I learned a lot just perusing their posts on a daily basis. This helped to shape my knowledge without me having to be bombarded with ads on Yahoo and Google.

I'd love to see Hive become a repository of knowledge with a more effective search function. Think about how often you use the search engines. Anything that can make Hive "stickier" for visitors will keep them coming back for more. All we have to do is build it.

If you found this post informative or inspiring, please leave an upvote, comment or reblog. And if you haven't already: Join Hive!

Please check out my recent posts:


Image Credit: 1

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center