The Child Driver | Shook Chapter 24 Part 6

Previous Part:
Heart Of Cheese | Shook Chapter 24 Part 5

A bright blue truck rushes down the highway, swaying as the 11-yeae-old driver tries too keep it steady. Meanwhile, her siblings and friend try to keep calm...

pexels-cottonbro-studio-4481946.jpg
Source

“I think I’m gonna read.” said Royal. She slid her book bag over to her, and unzipped it. She raised an eyebrow as she examined what was inside.

She pulled out a plastic bright orange-colored cloth with black straps on it. “Why is our old inflatable raft in my bookbag!?”

“In case we had to escape by river! Don’t any of you ever think ahead!?” Maya yelled.

Royal’s eyebrows wrinkled. “Hmm. You just packed for anything didn’t you?”

“Pretty much. There are life jackets in my bookbag,” said Maya.

While Royal rolled her eyes, Azure opened the back window and stuck his head out. Dyan shivered at the chilly air that blew at her face from the window.

“I think we’ve lost them.” Azure reported.

Though Maya’s face showed no emotion to the news, she said, “Good. Now True, hand Dyan the GPS and Dyan, look for a truck stop, we’ll have to stay there for the night.”

Dyan typed in “truck stop” and a few popped up, but not close to the tiny red moving arrow on the road, which was supposed to be them.

She clicked on the one closest to them and frowned. “The closest one is 50 miles.”

Maya’s eyebrows wrinkled and she gritted her teeth for a moment. “I…think we can make it. Yeah, we’ll have to make it. We can do this!” She said sitting up straight.

Little did she know, a little boy in the car right next to the truck was playing with his toy dinosaur when he looked and saw her driving.

A kid with blue hair driving a truck? He thought. Then he thought he was just imagining things. But that’s when he saw a HUGE furry dog in the back put a paw to the window. And he heard a baby cry. Then he saw a girl with black hair walk to the window and their eyes met.

Her eyes widened. His jaw (and toy dinosaur) dropped.

He pointed a finger at the window and said “Mom look! There’s a bunch of kids driving the truck next to us!”

The boy's mother huffed and reluctantly turned to see. Once she got a good look at the truck, she put a fat hand over her mouth. She turned to her husband. “There are kids driving down the highway in a truck!? Should I call the cops!?”

Her husband glanced at the truck. That glance became a stare.

“I’ll take that as a yes,” the mother slid her purse to her lap to search for her phone.


Find out what happens next in the next part!

New to Shook? You can find the chapter archive in this post.

Hey there! I’m Shila! I’ve loved books since I could read, and decided I would write books I wanted to see written for others! Check my children’s book Imagination on Amazon!

Follow me on Twitter!

I also write on Tumblr!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center