The Airport Trio | Shook Chapter 20 Part 2

Previous Part:
Shook Chapter 20: Departure

Dyan stands before the towering truck. Most of the Blue family is on a journey again, and it isn't too pleasant...

pexels-maria-tyutina-249581.jpg
Source

She then leaped up the colossal truck steps, and sat in the front passenger seat, next to Mr. Blue. The Blue children were all crowded in the back sitting on the bunks.

The ride to the airport was silent. Dyan stared at the window and let her thoughts take over. Shreds of snow floated to the ground like pieces of paper if someone had thrown them up. If it was snowing here in North Carolina, Dyan knew it had to be snowing in Maine. It was probably enduring a blizzard or something.

No one wanted to speak, not even Maya.

When Dyan started to hear planes roaring overhead, her heart raced. This was it. She would be riding a plane to Augusta, Maine, all by herself. Her first plane ride had not been so scary since she had Maya with her, but this time, Maya would not be there. None of the Blue family would.

Mr. Blue unlocked the truck.

“Why can’t we all take a plane to Maine? I don’t wanna have to sit in the truck for sixteen hours.” Wild Yonder complained.

“Because this isn’t some family trip. Dyan needs to get there fast because there are people waiting for her there. No use wasting money on seven plane tickets when I can drive there just fine with my truck.”

Most of the children sighed until he sharply said, “Quiet. Dyan, let’s go.”

Dyan looked at all the children’s sad faces. “Ca...Can Maya come too?”

Mr. Blue turned to Dyan and then looked at Maya.

“I mean, just to bring me to the waiting place where I’ll wait for the plane, please?” Dyan asked.

Mr. Blue stared at her sternly.

“Please,” Maya mumbled, locking her hands together and placing them under her chin.

After a moment, Mr. Blue said, “Com'on, Maya.”


Find out what happens next in the next part!

New to Shook? You can find the chapter archive in this post.

Hey there! I’m Shila! I’ve loved books since I could read, and decided I would write books I wanted to see written for others! Check my children’s book Imagination on Amazon!

Follow me on Twitter!

I also write on Tumblr!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center