Last Sorceress: Detention, Chapter 7 - Knight or Farmer (Logan POV)

It's been almost a month since I posted a chapter of this story. I'm gonna blame it on no motivation and other story ideas popping into existence in my head. Anyway, here's a little recap of what happened in past chapters.

RECAP: Luna and Logan found a witch's spellbook. When opened, Luna learned her grandmother was a witch, meaning she was too. Luna got detention after a fight with her bully, Kelly, who is the King's daughter. When the word "witch" is said 3 times, a storm begins, and the teacher, Mr. Down, takes Luna, Logan, and 3 other kids (Penny, Daniel, and Annie) to the Whomping house. Logan turns out to be a satyr. He informs them they are all magical creatures and must stay in the Whomping House. Meanwhile, Logan goes home to try out as a knight.

Here's the actual chapter...

Painting of knight | Medieval Knight with Arrow In Eye Slot | Know Your Meme

I had teleported right in front of my house. As I ran into the house I put my overalls on. “Where have you been,” my mom said. She licked her thumb and got some dirt on my face. “Mom,” I said, squirming away from her. “Is dad here?” My mom looked at me sadly. “Oh,” I said. I had thought he would come.

Oink!

“What. Was. That,” my mother said. I shrugged. “Um, me,” I said. I had forgotten about Pork Chop.

“Well, don’t make that sound again,” my mom said. Then she left the room. I quickly opened my backpack. Porkchop looked like he was dizzy. He fell. I gently grabbed him and put him on the windowsill. “Stay here,” I said. The pig cocked his head. “Stay,” I said. I walked into the dining room when I felt something by my leg. I looked and saw Pork Chop. I sighed. I picked him up and put him on the hay by the window. “Stay,” I said again. I started walking away when something brushed my leg. I knew it was Pork Chop. “Fine,” I said. I put the small pig into my pocket. “If you make a sound I’ll cook you,” I said. Pork Chop looked at me as if it was sorry. “You're lucky you're cute,” I said.

97 Cute Baby Pigs ideas | baby pigs, teacup pigs, cute pigs

Baby pigs are so cute! Sorry, back to the story.

I sat at the table where my mother had just put a plate full of cookies. When I tried to take one she slapped my hand away. “The king is coming. Get your dirty hands away from the cookies,” she said. “Fine,” I grumbled. I broke a small crumb off a cookie and gave it to Pork Chop.

Suddenly, I heard trumpets. I had jumped about a half foot in the air by the sound of them. I had always hated trumpets. I covered my ears as I opened the door. The king. He was standing at my door. I quickly bowed. He waved his hand and I got up.

The Sounding of Assisi's Medieval Trumpets - YouTube

“Your majesty,” my mother said, rushing in. She curtsied. “No need for that, Ms,” the king said. “We're here to see if your son has what it takes.” A woman, the queen, came out from behind the king. She had a long piece of paper. A few, actually. She then dropped them all. “Let me help,” I said, helping her pick up the papers. “Thank you, young man,” she said. She cleared her throat. “We just have a few questions. Show us your sword skills.” “That’s not a question,” I said.

I didn’t want to sound rude, but I tell the truth. Unless it’s about my goat legs. My mother stuffed a sword in my hand. “Where did you get a sword? I didn’t think you were a fighter. You're more like a cook. Did you use this to chop onions,” I asked? My mother did not look happy. The king let out a slight chuckle. He put an apple on one of his butler's heads. “Dangerous,” I said. The butler was praying. “Cool.”

Premium Photo | Happy young man with green apple on his head

I sliced the apple in half. The queen and the servants clapped. I took one half and gave it to the butler. “Thanks for your participation,” I said. He took a deep breath and thanked God. I took a bite of the other half. “Now what,” I asked. “Well, have you any problems with anything,” the queen asked. “No,” I said quickly.

What was I supposed to say? I’m half goat? If I did, I would never be a knight. Suddenly, I heard a soft oink. No, no, no was all I thought. “What was that,” my mother asked. She looked fuming. I quickly thought of what to do. “Um, I think it was outside, you check,” I said. When she went to the window I stuffed Pork Chop in her apron. “What is this,” I said, taking Pork Chop out. “Mom, why do you have a pig,” I asked. I gasped dramatically. “Were you going to cook him?” Everyone else gasped. “What? I did not have a pig in my apron,” she said. “Tell that to the pig,” I said. My mother's eyes widened and her face got red.

I know, I know. I shouldn’t have done that. But if my mom had found the pig with me, I’d be dead. Literally. I’m glad I had the sword, or my mother would have cut me to shreds. “Cookies,” my mother said. She was anxious to change the subject. “Yes, thank you,” the queen said, taking one. The queen took a bite. Then, she fell to the floor.

Poisoned Milk And Cookies (Story) | Crybabies Amino

What just happened?

“Mary,” the king exclaimed, kneeling by her side. I checked her pulse. “She’s alive,” I said. I stuffed my hand in my pocket and took out a potion. “Open her mouth so that her nose points up,” I told the king. He did what I told him. I held the Queen’s nose and poured the drink down her throat. “It might take a few days,” I said. The Queen’s eyes started to open. “Or a second,” I said.

“How did you know she was alive? How did you heal her,” the king asked? I helped the Queen up. “My friend, Luna, she’s very smart. Taught me to make the potion,” I said. “But I did add some stronger ingredients.” Those ingredients were magic, but don't tell him I said that.

“Is this that Luna, the orphan,” the king asked. I nodded. “Kelly told me she was rude,” the king said. My hands turned into fists. “She’s not. She’s the kindest person I know,” I said.

“Huh,” the king said. “I’m going to have to have a talk with Kelly.” “You sure do,” I grumbled. “Well, you’d make a good knight, sir Logan,” the king said, and he left.

Polonium, 'heartbreak grass' or good old-fashioned cyanide: what's your  poison? | Espionage | The Guardian

“What was in that cookie,” I asked my mom. “I-I don’t know,” she said. “But I did find this.” She took out a bottle with a skull top out of the draw. “Poison,” I said. “But, who? Why?” I heard someone outside. I looked out the window to see a dark figure running off. The figure looked like a man. Suddenly, the man grew wings and flew off. I heard a distant roar. Then I saw the fire come from the mouth of the thing. It grew horns and had shiny gold and red scales.

“What is that,” my mom asked. I looked at the creature's retreating figure.
“Nothing good.”

mythological dragon flying over medieval village Stock Footage Video (100%  Royalty-free) 7335301 | Shutterstock

I hope you enjoyed it! Logan is my favorite character to write the POV of, other than another character you will meet in the next part (I planned out 4 books. I know that's a lot, but that's what happens when I'm bored), but that's not for a while. Anyway, I hope you keep reading...as long as I don't fall into writer block again!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now