Coupled By The Waves

“Where are we? I can feel the breeze. Are those sounds from the waves? Are we at the beach? can I take my blindfold off?!!, I asked my boyfriend thousands of questions

“Just hold on, you’ll get everything soon. Keep the blindfold on and follow my lead. Don’t let go of my hand” Jude replied

“Okay, take it off on the count of three, two, one!”

“Judee!!!!! You did not! Aww I think I’m going to cry”

Standing right in front of a huge sign decorated with flowers that read “Daisy, will you marry me?”, I felt weak in the knees. As if that was not enough, Jude was proposing at my favorite place in the world: The beach!, in the middle of summer, my favorite holiday.



In summer 2019, I moved to a new city after going through a terrible heartbreak. My ex boyfriend was my childhood best friend. I thought he was going to be the man to receive me at the altar. I bet everything on him. I cried every day for three months. The beach eventually became my favorite place to be. That was the only place life made sense.

As an extrovert, it didn’t take long for me to make new friends. We moved from one party to another party all summer. It was like a routine. Each and everyday, after basking in the warmth of the sun during the day to get “tanned”, we would then party at night like there was no tomorrow.

My friends and I had booked one of the beach houses for a month. The breeze was so magical and the sunrise was more beautiful than anything I had ever seen. Anytime, I stood at the balcony watching the waves, I felt at peace yet some part of my heart couldn’t stop racing. The latter could be attributed to this surfer who would surf the morning waves.

It felt satisfying to watch. Anytime he surfed, the sounds from the waves felt like little hugs to my soul. There was a gravitational pull that I can never explain. He shone bright like a star as the rays from the sun clouded his figure. Anytime he shook his hair to get water out, I felt goosebumps over my body. Was that a god?

“Good morning girlll, what have you been coming to watch from the balcony every morning?” Chantel shouted from behind

“Ughh! Thank you for interrupting my me-time and I haven’t been watching anything”, I responded whiles blocking her view.

“Oh come on, you can’t have any me-time with us around. Thank you for making us breakfast though, you’re the best” she said whiles squeezing me in her arms.

“Alright, where are we going today?”
Sabrinah asked

“Ermm, the vine and all bills on the last person to finish dressing up!” Chantel screamed

“Says the snail amongst us”, Sabinah replied and burst into laughter

“You wait for me there!” Chantel shouted whiles chasing her with a comb

“Come on girls, we’re already late. Let’s go” I said this trying to bring their attention on important matters

We arrived at the party very late and right after we got there, I bumped into someone who spilled his drink all over me.

“I’m so sorry, I didn’t see you coming”, I apologized

“Oh come on, I am rather sorry for spilling my drink over you. Is there anything I can do?”, he asked me

“Oh no, it’s fine. I’m going to rush back home and change my outfit. We are staying in a beach house about 10 minutes away”

“Then, I will send you home”

Oh it’s fine, it’s just here. Just a walking distance”

Oh great, then I’m walking you home, I insist. That’s the least I could do. Please?

“Alright sir”

“Oh, you can call me Jude”

“Alright Jude”

After a silent 10 minutes walk

“Alright, this is me. Thank you for walking me home”

“Wait, you’re the balcony girl?”

“What do you mean?”, I asked and turned to look at Jude for the first time that night. Ohh my, my eyes got stuck. How could a man carry the handsomeness of thousands? He was built like a Greek god and I couldn’t stop staring at those muscles in that tank top.

“I always see a girl on the balcony anytime I’m surfing early morning”, he brought me back to reality

“Ohhhh, you’re the surfer? I acted as if my heart wasn’t skipping beats

“Yeah, I am. Such a small world right?”

“Well, keep on giving me a show every morning till I leave”

“Leave? Why?”

“Oh this isn’t my house, my friends and I rented it for summer holidays”

“Oh! alright, so erm, can I take you out or something?

“Wait, you don’t even know me”

“Ohh, but it feels like I do, I mean we’ve technically been seeing each other for the past 2 weeks?, Please?”

“Okay fine, just this once”



Just like any summer, this one was no different except that I was standing right there in front of a “will you marry me?” sign. We were right at the shore where everything began in summer 2019. Just like 2019, Jude’s presence still transformed sounds from the waves into little hugs to my soul. After saying “yes”, I heard screams of “congratulations!!!” only to turn and see my girls at the balcony of the beach house with balloon decorations and the inscription “welcome home”.

I was really confused because I had tried booking the place and was told it wasn’t available. I then came to the realization, James planned with my girls and bought me my favorite beach house at my favorite place in the world. I broke down into uncontrollable tears of joy.

Best Summer of my life and oh, I’m getting married to the love of my life!

<All images are mine

this is my entry to scholarandscribe x dreemport challenge, week 1

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center