For Skipper With Love

header.jpg

Training with Skipper

Yesterday I told you again, It was quiet for a long time because there was so much going on that I was busy with. So no, it wasn't due to lack of inspiration. It was really because I was busy with so many things at the same time that I didn't have time to busy blogging. One of the projects I have taken on is to get back into full training with our Skipper. Of course, I have done that before, but it was watered down due to circumstances. And actually, that shouldn't be an excuse, because although Skipper is a great dog, he has also developed some nasty traits because I have been 'too soft' in my training with him. And even though I have difficulty leaving the two ladies behind, and I feel guilty that I temporarily take Skipper alone more often and for longer while the ladies would also like to do so, there is no other way. The habits that Skipper has taught himself can only be corrected if I put a lot of time and attention into them. Which is really necessary to make life more pleasant and less stressful for us, but also for him.

He desperately needed his own leash

During my training hours and walks with Skipper, I suddenly realized that after three years of being with us, he still walks with Rowan's old dog leash. Why? Why didn't I think before that he deserved his own dog leash? Maybe it's the same reason why Skipper's training didn't get the attention he needed. When I took a deep look at myself, an idea came to mind. Don't get me wrong, I love Skipper dearly, but maybe, just maybe, deep down in my heart, I had a hard time fully embracing Skipper in the beginning because I was still grieving for Rowan. I don't know if this is really the thing. But what I do know is that Rowan passed away on December 21, 2019. Skipper came to live with us on February 15, 2020. In retrospect, perhaps the time between those two events was too short. I can't say for sure. What I can say with certainty is that Skipper has certainly won his place in my heart from day 1. And that has only grown over time, but especially in the last few months, I have noticed a change. He gains more confidence, behaves less autistic, and responds much better to us. He is less inclined to solve everything himself. But despite this, he still needs a strong dog leash, because Skipper remains a dog that is not very friendly to other dogs when on a leash. That won't change any time soon. And walking off-leash is not (always) an option.

I'm going to make his new leash myself

The events of Sunday evening have made that very clear once again. On Sunday evening it was a scooter that was hit by a car that was driving way too fast. The scooter rider pays dearly for this. But if I let my dog loose here, it could just be my dog that gets hit by a car. I don't want to think about that, I don't want to experience that, and so Skipper just needs a good leash. Rowan's old leash also started to show some wear spots. So something had to be done about that. He had to get his own leash, nice, strong, comfortable for him, and good hold for us. After some brainstorming, I decided to make the leash myself. The supplies I needed: 80 meters of paracord and a Kumihimo braiding disc!

80 meters of Paracord, and Kumihimo

Paracord is a type of nylon cord originally used for parachutes. It is very strong, durable, and water-resistant. You can find it in all kinds of colors and patterns, so you can create your own style. Kumihimo is a Japanese braiding technique that has been used for centuries to make jewelry, dog leashes, and other accessories. It consists of braiding several threads on a special disk or board, allowing you to create different shapes and patterns.

To make a dog leash with paracord and kumihimo you will need the following:

  • Paracord in the colors you want (I used black, gold, cream and green diamond, because I thought those colors went well together, look great on Skipper, match his collar well and have a cool, chic look)

  • A kumihimo disc (you can buy it online or in hobby shops, or make it yourself from cardboard, I bought my disc cheaply from amazon in a set of 5 different discs. Who knows, I might end up liking it so much that I'll make more things want to make)

  • A carabiner or snap hook to attach the leash to the collar, you can also braid O- or D-rings into the leash. I made my leash with two snap hooks and D-rings woven into the leash to create an adjustable leash that I can adjust to different lengths.

  • Scissors and a lighter to finish the ends of the paracord

The steps to make the dog leash are as follows:

  1. Cut the required amount of paracords to the length you want to use. With Kumihimo braids you can maintain approximately that you need 3 meters of rope for every meter of strap you want. The amount is a personal choice, depending on what you want to braid and how thick you want the leash. Usually, 8 cords are chosen, but I was stubborn again and decided to go for a 16-cord pattern. Let's just say I chose to create a "Very Heavy Duty Dog Leash".

  2. Melt the ends of the paracord with a lighter to prevent fraying.

  3. Make a loop at one end of each piece of paracord and hook them together with the carabiner.

  4. Place the snap hook on a table or other flat surface and place the kumihimo disk underneath so that the loops pass through the opening in the center.

  5. Divide the 16 strands of paracord over the slots in the kumihimo disk, so that there are 8 pairs in four colors that alternate.

  6. Start braiding according to the basic scheme: take the top strand on the right side and bring it down to the right side of the bottom strands. Then take the bottom wire on the left and bring it up to the left of the top wires. Turn the disk a quarter turn clockwise and repeat these steps.

  7. Continue braiding until you reach the desired length, or until you are almost out of paracord.

  8. Tie a knot at the end of the braided strap and melt the ends with a lighter to secure them.

  9. Cut off any excess paracord and you're done!

It took some time and some effort, but the result is worth it. A custom-made dog leash.

For Skipper With Love!

After more than 3 years he got his own dog leash. And the leash looks great on him. But more importantly, Skipper can now walk safely with his new leash. He is happy, and we are happy. He deserved it, and it was fun to do too.

IMG_20230911_170654976_HDR.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center