Market Friday - What should not missed in the City of Smile?

New Blog Post LinkedIn Post (1).jpg

Weeks ago, I visited the City of Smile and got a chance to meet a fellow Hivian. After spending time overnight with some chitchats that last until breakfast, we parted ways. I went back to work as the reason why I visited Bacolod. Conducting an audit was tiring, plus sometimes less cooperation from the employee. Also, I was no longer used to traveling and spending time outside in humid weather. For the past two years, my life only revolves around our dorm and office.
I was thankful when it was finally done, and I rushed home as I needed to catch the last fast craft trip to Iloilo. Thus, I passed by the famous and trusted pasalubong shop in Bacolod, Bongbong's.

20220922_151921.jpg

It was owned by a couple who started the business in 1984 with $1.84 money that was left from the husband's separation pay. At first, they were selling Piyaya (a flatbread filled with unleavened muscovados that were common in our country, especially in Negros). Source

At first they are just selling it in the neighborhood at $0.1 until they venture in the market and it flourished. Source.

In every branch the history on how the business started up to this day status is always displayed.
Now, everyone that visiting this place usually doesn't go home without this sweet delicacies. It doesn't sell piyaya now but already ventures in more. Let me share you some.

Since Piyaya is the best seller you have a choice to buy not only freshly made but hot, literally as there was a station for it.

Before, they only had two flavors. which is classic and ube. It was packed into different sizes, I forgot to check how many pieces but the smaller one is 190 grams, and the bigger one was 380. Prices varies from the flavor. Ube is quite expensive, $0.61 and $1.15.
I ordered just five pieces of hot piyaya and since it was quite hot and draining instead of coffee I bought Gatorade. While walking into the vacant seats I halted when I saw these!

20220922_152417.jpg

As it was a brilliant idea! Not everyone love to eat Piyaya as it was sweet so some paired it with a coffee to balance the taste. Yet having Coffee flavor ? It was perfect.
Not only that as instead of using plastic as packaging they used disposable container and sealed. Branding was not eliminated as the sticker was personalized. It was presentable enough to give as a small present.
I took only a few packs as I could not manage to carry heavy loads. I have my backpacks that contains my personal things with me too.
My phone vibrated as I received a message and can't help but to feel disappointed as it was past three in the afternoon. The last trip is at four. So instead of finding a seat, just decided to roam around to find what to buy.

Kalamay - hati, a sweet delicacy that is available most of the time in different regions here in the Philippines. It consists of ground glutinous rice, brown sugar, and coconut milk. Ingredients and processed are just the same but some twist added to have a unique version. It is usually served like other foods in a plate or saucer once cooked. Which maybe some find it boring, so this entrepreneur decided to use empty coconut shell as packaging. No worries that it might be messy.

20220922_152359.jpg

If you are looking for something to be paired with coffee. Try this toasted mamon. or perhaps Biscocho?

image.png

I am not sure if it's only us Filipinos who love to dip our bread into our coffee. But if you are one of us, these two are the best choices.

There still a lot of choices, different types of breads and desserts but I no longer had time. After I pay at the counter I hurriedly went out and go directly at the port.

The trip might be exhausted but still it was fun! Aside from meeting a virtual friend, I got a chance again to drop by in some tourist destination at Bacolod. Not only that but to have a taste again of this delicious delicacies.

Hello Hivers, it's been weeks since the last time I posted here so I decided to share it here #MarketFriday hosted by @dswigle.

pinmappled code:
[//]:# (!pinmapple 10.67087 lat 122.94549 long Pasalubong center d3scr)

Lead Image was edited using Canva
Photos are mine

Thanks for dropping by.

Date published: 10/09/22
Place: Manila Philippines

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now