A Dream per meter


My nephew is getting married in Italy during the latter half of June, and I’m tasked with dressmaking - lots and lots of sewing, haha. I’m doing a mother-of-the-groom dress for my sister-in-law and wardrobes of clothes for everyone for the Italian sun. (It’s winter here in South Africa, so summer clothes are dreamy to make)

This is the sample of the dress I’m making for my SIL

e4d3243a_8b2f_40c3_891e_b7d5fcf73cf1.jpg

Now a confession - I’ve been a fabric addict all my life. My house is so stuffed with meters of fabric that you can hardly open a cupboard without being drowned in the deluge. Most people store clothing or linen in their cupboards, not me, I’ve got FABRIC. I’ve also got sewing tools, accessories and a roomful of sewing machines (industrial machines from my days as a swimwear manufacturer) .

I LOVE MAKING AND DESIGNING CLOTHES. I LOVE FABRIC AND IF THERE'S AN OPPORTUNITY TO BUY MORE, I’M THERE BOOTS (of course I had boots on, it’s winter) AND ALL.

Sooooooooooo…

Into the fabric store we go for the Market Friday/DreemPort challenge. Let me show you around. This store is a wonderland of pure, unadulterated delight - fabric for dancing under the moon, for weddings, for baby clothes, for…YOU GET MY DRIFT?

img_3378

The most beautiful piece of fabric I saw was also the most expensive at R890/m (about $60 per meter) . A dress would cost about $180 to make in this fabric. Haha, pricey, no?

0670e7c3_a61b_48cb_9afa_c2342877beaf.jpg

26e24b2d_2f8e_4cd9_b460_099542aa08a9.jpg

These bolts were the prettiest

img_3379

I bought sheer blue mesh and a buckle to add to my SIL’s dress and weirdly it did actually cost around $10, which was an element of the challenge for this post.

0fcc3321_8b13_4372_8ea5_77e5a84185c4.jpg

I bought about 100 meters of fabric last week and was only looking to add fancy bits and bobs. Obviously, I’ll post pictures next week (and PDF sewing patterns ) for everything I actually make.


All images are my own shot with my iPad and manipulated using PicCollage and Art Studio

This post is for #MarketFriday by @dswigle

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency