We eat, drink and have a good time

So we moved on, especially since we were supposed to go for lunch at our favorite restaurant, the Blue Lion (a new episode?... Yes!).

This is how I ended a previous post about Balchik. This seaside resort is in Bulgaria. On the Black Sea. I'm thinking of writing a bit about this place without referring to... the sea, although I go there, every year, for... the sea!

There are so many reasons why we choose to holiday by the sea, especially those of us who don't have a sea nearby. Especially the sea, the beach, the salt water bath and sunbathing, swimming. All these have been important to me for decades too. After decades pass, however, something unavoidable happens. We get older, and with that, we are forced to cut some of those aforementioned reasons off our list of preferences.

Health, strength, a greater need for rest and relaxation, and laziness all contribute to changing habits. So now I look to the sea for rest, the walk, and the view. The view is primarily the sea, the walk is the necessary movement and the rest, let's call it active rest, I like best when it happens at a café or on a terrace. Where to admire the view, the people and enjoy the pleasure of local food, hence seafood.

I confess now that I also go to Balchik to eat at a certain restaurant. The Blue Lion Restaurant! A strange restaurant that even though it is set in a beautiful building does not work inside. There is the kitchen. Food is served only on the terrace. A simple terrace with a few tables, something similar to a Greek taverna.

IMG_20210907_162503.jpg

Even though it's called the Blue Lion, I like to call it the Green Cap Restaurant.

IMG_20210907_162543.jpg

It's a restaurant where the food is good, or at least the staff is friendly since this dog never leaves his side.

The food is simple, with no fancy arrangements on the plate. It is good, fresh, sufficient, and tasty!

Post template 5 Photos Montage.jpg

I am only interested in eating fresh fish from the Black Sea, fish caught the same day it is prepared.

IMG_20230616_155617.jpg

IMG_20230616_155628.jpg

IMG_20230616_155710.jpg

It's a strange restaurant because they don't use the building to serve the food. I don't know why, so far I haven't asked what the cause is.

IMG_20230616_160438(1).jpg

A small terrace with about ten tables, that's all. Also as an oddity, this restaurant is only open from 15 June until 15 September. Actually, it's not that strange because this is the classic sea season here.

In the last two years, I missed this restaurant because one year I came to Balchik at the end of May, and the next year at the end of September.

Since then, I first enquire if the restaurant is open and then determine when I go to the sea.

Because I also have to refer to money. The Blue Lion is not an expensive restaurant. A lunch here for two costs approximately 20 euros. That's for a Bulgarian salad, a schnitzel with fries and cheese, a pie, a beer for my wife, and for me, usually fish soup and fried fish, plus a brandy and a beer. We were pleased!

On the other hand, every day spent at the seaside means a quite significant expense, i.e. much higher than the daily expenses I make at home. I kept wondering why this was happening... until I saw this statue. It's clear now...

BeFunky-collage (1).jpg

...as long as someone wants the moon in the sky and someone else is willing to bring it, it will be so.

Today is #MarketFriday initiated by @dswigle (Denise, that's her!). It started as a challenge and has grown into a much-loved community here. I can brag about something...

We always have to put a flower at the end, #alwaysaflower, now more than ever... also lavender. Lavender is this summer's flower!

IMG_7175.jpg

End of the 9th episode.

Balchik Series
Below are all the episodes:

Feeling The Sea
My Friend, The Cat
Sea, Sun, Cats, and Souvenirs
People and Cacti, Botanical Garden in Balchik
Summer
Feeling The Sea (Two) - Balchik (Episode Six)
Balchik Lavender
Wild Nature In Balchik

If you've read this far and aren't in the HIVE already, may I ask you a few questions? Do you want to earn for writing? Do you have passions or skills that you want to show others? Do you want to earn crypto like we have been doing for over six years? Referral link for a FREE account HERE

every_picture.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency