Don't Be This Kind of Traveller

This is a “horror” hostel story!

20230427_185326.jpg

Hostel is a great choice for any budget traveler. These days they come in different types and choices. You can read more about the pros and cons over here From Bed Bugs to Lifelong Friends: My Unforgettable Hostel Living Experience but this is something intriguing that I stumbled upon recently, problems at the hostel I am staying at which actually is the first time from all my hostel experience that I see it happening. That being said, I have a higher tolerance for people and I am very patient,unless they provoke me. Or sometimes I just don’t care but I think that I should talk about it to make people aware that though hostels are cheap, it doesn’t mean anyone can do what they please.

These are some of the situations and common sense that I think travelers who stay in hostels should have. It’s something that seems trivial but can be annoying for other guests as we are all in shared rooms with different types of people but asking for these shouldn’t be too much as it’s basic common decency!

Be mindful about your voice and keep the chat away from inside the dorm room especially at 1 AM

Before I was sleeping late at night, I heard a conversation from the next room at midnight. The people were conversing in language I don’t understand but I can tell somehow it wasn’t a pleasant interaction. The fact that it was late at night and I could hear it from another room was a different kind of loud. These are unwritten rules but seems like people sort of need it to be written.

Don’t trash the place and make it dirty

I’ve stayed at the place for a month and now it’s about to be my 2nd month. I’ve never seen that place to be extremely dirty. But the last two days, the shared toilet was extremely dirty with toilet papers everywhere, unflushed toilet and just overall bad smells. Then I found out the cause!

There was this guest who just trash the place with toilet papers and also leaving her bloody menstrual pads on the floor. I feel sorry for all the cleaning staffs because they had to deal with it and some of my hostel friends saw it. Apparently from the chatter I heard, this particular guest had problems with the staff and also her dorm mate. She was being loud, mean, and overall unpleasant and the way she confronts the problem is by trashing the place and making it dirty instead of talking it out.

Don’t leave the lights on all day!

Usually some hostels have a no-lights policy during certain hours. But if not, your best bet is relying on common sense. In some hostels, they provide lights that are there in your bed. So you should be fine if you want something late at night. It’s never fine to turn on all the dorm lights at 3 AM!

Don’t take something that isn’t yours

If it’s not yours, don’t take it or use it. I got my bottle of soap stolen at the hostel. It’s a small thing but it just speaks about the kind of person they are. I was hoping that with that soap, it’ll last me until I leave the place but well, someone stole it. Now, I know damn well to never leave anything unattended even a bottle of soap just because someone can think just because it’s there and they are for sharing!

Don’t pack and unpack late at night!

The sound of plastic bags can wake anyone up and it’s not a pleasant thing. If you’re doing late check-in,just take whatever necessary and clean the things in the morning. Doing it late at night and disturbing others' sleep is just bad hostel manners.

Respect people’s personal space and privacy

You can be friendly and also have your own space. The people that I stayed at hostel are mostly a mix of introvert and ambivert. Everyone that stays in the hostels I am staying at are mostly asleep by 10 or 11 PM. They still have work the next day or something to do but you can also strike a conversation with them. Everything has its time. Whenever I said that I don’t want to talk, I mostly excuse myself and people would respect it. Also when it comes to dorm living, don’t be that kind of person who suddenly opens somebody's curtain without permission!

Don’t smoke and roll joints inside the dorm! Be mindful about the things you bring inside the dorm especially when it has certain odor!

Smoking is already prohibited inside the dorm and in confined spaces the smell can even be strong. I heard some complaints about people rolling joints inside the room. Not everyone likes the smell and if you want to roll them, do it in an open space. One of my hostel friends had to move from his dorm just because inside the dorm, he couldn’t stand the smell. Sometimes I smelled sweaty odor and it was yucky and hated that. I had to air out the room so that the smell went away.

After all dorms are for sleeping!

Hostels have places such as lounge areas, common rooms and sometimes a study room. If you still have things to do, go to those places inside being loud in bed. If you need to do some work on your laptop, just go there and not inside the bed while everyone is asleep.

thumbnail.jpg

Don't hesitate to upvote for more content like this ! You can also support me below!


image.png𝘔𝘢𝘤 𝘪𝘴 𝘢 𝘴𝘦𝘭𝘧-𝘦𝘮𝘱𝘭𝘰𝘺𝘦𝘥 𝘯𝘪𝘯𝘫𝘢 & 𝘤𝘰𝘧𝘧𝘦𝘦 𝘤𝘰𝘯𝘯𝘰𝘪𝘴𝘴𝘦𝘶𝘳 . 𝘈 𝘵𝘺𝘱𝘪𝘤𝘢𝘭 𝘪𝘯𝘵𝘳𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘵 𝘪𝘯 𝘭𝘰𝘷𝘦 𝘸𝘪𝘵𝘩 𝘭𝘪𝘵𝘦𝘳𝘢𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘦, 𝘣𝘰𝘰𝘬𝘴, 𝘵𝘦𝘤𝘩𝘯𝘰𝘭𝘰𝘨𝘺 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘱𝘩𝘪𝘭𝘰𝘴𝘰𝘱𝘩𝘺. 𝘛𝘩𝘪𝘴 𝘪𝘴 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘱𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘰𝘯𝘢𝘭 𝘣𝘭𝘰𝘨, 𝘢 𝘳𝘦𝘧𝘭𝘦𝘤𝘵𝘪𝘰𝘯 𝘰𝘧 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘸𝘢𝘯𝘥𝘦𝘳𝘭𝘶𝘴𝘵 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘵𝘩𝘪𝘳𝘴𝘵 𝘧𝘰𝘳 𝘬𝘯𝘰𝘸𝘭𝘦𝘥𝘨𝘦. 𝘚𝘩𝘦 𝘰𝘧𝘵𝘦𝘯 𝘤𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘴 𝘣𝘰𝘰𝘬𝘴, 𝘮𝘰𝘷𝘪𝘦 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘴𝘦𝘳𝘪𝘦𝘴 𝘳𝘦𝘷𝘪𝘦𝘸𝘴, 𝘵𝘦𝘤𝘩 𝘳𝘦𝘷𝘪𝘦𝘸𝘴 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘵𝘳𝘦𝘯𝘥𝘴, 𝘱𝘩𝘰𝘵𝘰𝘨𝘳𝘢𝘱𝘩𝘺, 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘱𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘰𝘯𝘢𝘭 𝘥𝘦𝘷𝘦𝘭𝘰𝘱𝘮𝘦𝘯𝘵. 𝘖𝘯𝘤𝘦 𝘪𝘯 𝘢 𝘣𝘭𝘶𝘦 𝘮𝘰𝘰𝘯, 𝘺𝘰𝘶 𝘤𝘢𝘯 𝘧𝘪𝘯𝘥 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘵𝘳𝘢𝘷𝘦𝘭𝘪𝘯𝘨, 𝘪𝘮𝘮𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘩𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘦𝘭𝘧 𝘪𝘯 𝘭𝘰𝘤𝘢𝘭 𝘤𝘶𝘭𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘦𝘴 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘵𝘳𝘢𝘥𝘪𝘵𝘪𝘰𝘯𝘴, 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘵𝘢𝘬𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘱𝘪𝘤𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘦𝘴 𝘰𝘧 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘣𝘦𝘢𝘶𝘵𝘪𝘧𝘶𝘭 𝘴𝘪𝘨𝘩𝘵𝘴 𝘴𝘩𝘦 𝘦𝘯𝘤𝘰𝘶𝘯𝘵𝘦𝘳𝘴 𝘢𝘭𝘰𝘯𝘨 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘸𝘢𝘺. 𝘚𝘩𝘦'𝘴 𝘢𝘯 𝘰𝘤𝘤𝘢𝘴𝘪𝘰𝘯𝘢𝘭 𝘧𝘰𝘰𝘥𝘪𝘦 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘭𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘴 𝘵𝘰 𝘦𝘹𝘱𝘭𝘰𝘳𝘦 𝘯𝘦𝘸 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘥𝘦𝘭𝘪𝘤𝘪𝘰𝘶𝘴 𝘤𝘶𝘭𝘪𝘯𝘢𝘳𝘺 𝘦𝘹𝘱𝘦𝘳𝘪𝘦𝘯𝘤𝘦𝘴. 𝘍𝘰𝘭𝘭𝘰𝘸 𝘢𝘭𝘰𝘯𝘨 𝘰𝘯 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘢𝘥𝘷𝘦𝘯𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘦𝘴 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘫𝘰𝘪𝘯 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘤𝘰𝘯𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘢𝘵𝘪𝘰𝘯! 𝘋𝘰𝘯'𝘵 𝘩𝘦𝘴𝘪𝘵𝘢𝘵𝘦 𝘵𝘰 𝘶𝘱𝘷𝘰𝘵𝘦, 𝘭𝘦𝘢𝘷𝘦 𝘢 𝘤𝘰𝘮𝘮𝘦𝘯𝘵 𝘰𝘳 𝘢 𝘧𝘦𝘦𝘥𝘣𝘢𝘤𝘬. 𝘈 𝘳𝘦-𝘣𝘭𝘰𝘨 𝘪𝘴 𝘢𝘭𝘴𝘰 𝘢𝘱𝘱𝘳𝘦𝘤𝘪𝘢𝘵𝘦𝘥 𝘵𝘰𝘰.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now