Skogafoss Iceland

Skogafoss is one of the bigger waterfalls in Iceland end therefore also one of the bigger tourist attractions. With a 60m drop(200 ft) it forms a 25m (82 ft) wide wall of water thundering down. It is an overwhelming sight approaching this giant. The closer you get the sound increases so much that you're unable to speak to each other. But probably you won't come too close since the amount of water vapor is immense and will definitely soak your close and camera.

Due to all the water vapor on a sunny day it's quite normal that one or two rainbows can be seen. And even at night when there is a bright moon rainbows or moonbows can be seen.

When I traveled trough Iceland last year I was lucky there were almost no tourist. I had the place for myself for hours. And that is quite extraordinary for this touristic waterfall. Coming March I will return to Iceland, there might be more tourist by then but I still look forward visiting this place again.

Cheers,
Thijs

IMG_5943-Edit-Edit-2.jpg

IMG_6180-Edit-4.jpg

IMG_6174-Edit-3.jpg

IMG_6154-Edit.jpg

IMG_7510-Edit.jpg

IMG_8111-Edit.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments