Fighting Scottish Highlander Cows

Near the place I live there is a big national park called "de Veluwe". There is a lot of wildlife in the park and the Scottish Highlander cows are among the biggest animals to be found there. They are friendly and most of the time cute animals to watch. In a previous post I called them teddycows since they have that furry and soft looking appearance.

But like all cute animals they have a wild side too. Like this time when I passed the group, two of the cows had something to discuss. Headfirst. Knowing the size and weight of these animals is huge and seeing them crash into each other its hard to imagine what an impact it must be. You would aspect a headache at least.

I once saw a video of a woman approaching a Scottish highlander cow with a young calf. She ended up being thrown high up in the air with a single blow from the mother cow. So when I saw this fight a kept my distance. Using a long lens I was able to snap some shots. Eventually the fight was settled and both animals continued their way without mayor injuries. (at least not visible to me)

Enjoy your day!
Cheers,
Thijs

IMG_3833.jpg

IMG_3834-2.jpg

IMG_3846-2.jpg

IMG_3843-2.jpg

IMG_3843.jpg

IMG_3844.jpg

IMG_3837.jpg

IMG_3837-3.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now