Rare interior photography of Arnhem Station














In this blog post, I'll be sharing a few rare interior photographs of Arnhem Central Station. Arnhem is a city in the Netherlands, that has been working on the construction of its new Station for several years. Whenever I had to travel by train and pass Arnhem, it was always such a hassle and a time-consuming process. At some point, I wanted to know why it took so long to construct this station and decided to break in and take some photographs. Of course, I didn't actually break in, that would probably have been considered a crime here. What I didn't know, was that it was prohibited to take photographs of the station, as I was asked to leave the station due to taking photographs there. I had to delete all my photographs, but lucky for me, I had two cameras with me, and two cards.


Ever since I became aware that photographing the Eiffel tower during the light show is copyrighted, (yeah, I still can't wrap my head around that fact), I became a bit fascinated about copyright and where you are allowed to photograph. Since all (most) train stations in Holland are the private property of the NS (Dutch Railway), stations are not to be considered public areas, where one may photograph as they, please. After reading a bit about it, it was clear that you may photograph if it is for personal use, and for commercial use, you have to ask for permission. Since I wanted to photograph it just out of curiosity, and I always respect people that I photograph (I tend to have a preference for people-less photographs anyway), it seems it was no big deal, and the person who told me to delete one flash-drive was in the wrong.









©2023 - Ruben Cress





©2023 - Ruben Cress







Awesome interior, awesome shots

Luckily for me (and you who read this), this only applies to -making- photographs, as the publication for photography does not apply. Of course, published photographs with people and NS staff in them are considered to be evidence, and you could face jail time. Well, I'm definitely not willing to spend up to 6 months in jail for making photographs. All I want to do is share the beauty of Arnhem Station. While the interior has changed a lot after my visit, I think that the clean interior is magnificent.

I had to make sure though. So, before publishing this, I double-checked and read a few articles that made it clear that making photographs at the stations is only prohibited if you photograph NS staff (or other people due to the AVG law). Do keep in mind though, that these photographs aren't portraying the current state of Arnhem, and there are probably only a few photographs like this that exist.

Check it out :)







©2023 - Ruben Cress





©2023 - Ruben Cress





©2023 - Ruben Cress





Panorama

I also made a nice panorama shot of the ceiling. It was a bit wider, but unfortunately due to all the curves, it's a bit difficult to get the bending out. To prevent this, I should've made more photographs with smaller gaps between them.







view larger size







view larger size







view larger size






Have you sneaked into places you shouldn't?

Have you been to places where you weren't allowed to be? While the door was wide open, there were not that many people there, this was most probably because they were either closing or starting to work on construction. I'm pretty happy with how these photographs turned out, and if Arnhem Station is seeing these as well, I hope they do too.

Cheers,
Ruben




Follow me on Foundation | Follow me on Twitter | Follow me on Instagram



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center