Fluid; formless, shapeless| photos from a session with Karina.

I stumbled on an old video of legendary martial artist; Bruce Lee. And while I've seen the video, and even read the quote before, it didn't make so much sense until recently.

He said;

Empty your mind, be formless. Shapeless, like water. If you put water into a cup, it becomes the cup. You put water into a bottle and it becomes the bottle. You put it in a teapot it becomes the teapot. Now, water can flow or it can crash. Be water my friend.
-Bruce Lee

Aside from striking a moment of deep thoughts in me, it also reminded me of some photos I created for Karina. I did the session sometime this month. I think around the first week.

Most of the photos had movements to them that depicted fluidity. I shared monochrome variants of the photos from the set. However I'll sharing the colored variants from when I switched to a brown backdrop. These ones were dreamy and soft. Check them out:

KDB-2168softlight
KDB-2168
KDB-2173
KDB-2173halo
KDB-2173texturehalo
KDB-2178
KDB-2213-Recovered
KDB-2133-Recovered-2
KDB-2086-Recovered-1
KDB-2110-Recovered-1
KDB-2125-Recovered-1
KDB-2090-Recovered-1

I got a great deal of feedback from those photos. Like genuine feedback. Most comments had people(friends and previous clients) telling me how much my work has improved. And I was grateful to hear such remarks. It was a sign that I was achieving my goal of "getting better with each image".

I had to look at my work again after reading those comments, and truly, I had improved on my work even from 4-5 months ago. That's growth! I'm grateful for growth.

In other news, it's amazing sometimes how the least desired things turn out the best things. For Karina's session, we were to shoot 3 outfits. After shooting the first two, she said she wasn't interested in the third. She said she didn't think she looked good.

It took some time to convince her to shoot the outfit. We actually spent less than 15 minutes shooting the outfit. I just told her to sway with the dress, she reluctantly did, but those photos were the best. Or what do you think?

For those photos, I tried to create more fluidity by shooting at a very slow shutter speed. Somehow, I didn't get so much motion blur. But the photos were soft as I wanted them.

Here's EXIF:


1638319113277.png

Lemme know in the comments section what you think about the photos

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center