Interchangeable Lens Systems Are Often An Unnecessarily Expensive Overkill

Many hobby photographers walk around with expensive equipment that they don’t need. A bridge camera is more than enough for 90% of them. This is my personal opinion. But I am convinced that 90% of people who call themselves photographers walk around with a complete OVERKILL of equipment. I know that probably not many people share this opinion, but read on before you get defensive and start shouting that it’s not true.


20232023May14_1923-Enhanced-NR.jpg

But I NEED A Professional Camera

The world of photography has become more accessible than ever before. With the continuous development of camera technologies, everyone can enjoy a wide range of possibilities, from high-end smartphones to professional cameras with interchangeable lenses. However, the misconception persists that for serious photography work, you need a single-lens reflex camera (DSLR) or a mirrorless camera with an arsenal of lenses. And that is a misconception that costs a lot of people a lot of money that they could often use better, and a whole arsenal of equipment that they do not need for their photography at all. The reality is that most people who call themselves photographers have more than enough with a modern bridge camera.

Unfortunately, there are many manufacturers these days who ignore this piece of technology and focus entirely on systems with interchangeable lenses. And I get it, it makes more money for the manufacturer, but in fact, it is a piece of technology that is a godsend for the consumer. Bridge cameras are somewhere between compact cameras and professional systems with interchangeable lenses. They offer a range of functions that cover many daily photography needs. They offer mostly the same possibilities as an SLR, except that they have a fixed zoom lens with an often impressive range that goes from wide-angle to telephoto. This allows users to photograph almost anything they want with one lens, from landscapes to macros to that deer that crosses the forest 500 meters away from you. In short, the bridge camera is incredibly versatile, and let's face it, that's more than enough for most people among us.

2023DSCN2946-Enhanced-NR.jpg

The only photographers who need an SLR camera or system camera with interchangeable lenses are the professionals who live off the income from their photography


Nowadays, you don't have to ignore the bridge camera for the high quality of the images. And yes, of course, I am aware that an SLR camera or mirrorless camera can deliver superior results in specific situations. But to get these superior results, it is necessary that you also really know very well how to use the camera to get this superior quality out of it. Buying an expensive camera with an expensive lens is not automatically enough to also make superior images. Let's face it, not everyone has got what it takes! Yes, I agree that an SLR camera or mirrorless system camera with interchangeable lenses is necessary if you earn your money with your camera. For example, when you specialize in sports photography, portraits with artistic bokeh, or landscapes where every detail is of great importance. I would like to say, that the only photographers who need an SLR camera or system camera with interchangeable lenses are the professionals who live off the income from their photography. And this applies to a very small percentage of all people who call themselves photographers. Most people who call themselves photographers, don't need the extremely superior specifications of the high-end systems and are also not able to get the maximum quality out of this camera. But in the meantime, they walk around with a suitcase or bag full of equipment that has cost a lot of money that is hardly or not at all earned back.

A Hobby May Cost Money

Yes, I am of course also very well aware that for many people photography is a hobby, and that a hobby may cost money. Certainly, I agree with you. Photography is a wonderful hobby, but is it justifiable for yourself that you have spent perhaps 10K euros on that hobby? If you have the money to spare, no problem. Do your thing. If you think it is really worth that much to you, do it! I really won't stop you. But what I do want to remind you is that many people don't realize that bridge cameras have made a huge leap forward in technology and image quality in recent years. In the most modern models, larger sensors can now be found that offer access to a quality comparable to an SLR. No, you don't get the same perfect dreamy creamy bokeh from bridge cameras, as you can get with the expensive big aperture lenses. But on the other hand, if you want the absolute top bokeh, you will also have to pay a lot more money for a lens with a big aperture. The budget lenses that are for sale won't give you a better bokeh than a bridge camera can give. With one exception ing of course the 50mm F1.8. This is a top lens for a relatively small amount of money. However, with only 50mm of reach, you are very limited. Bridge cameras nowadays offer similarly advanced image processing systems and extensive manual control options, and they have a fixed lens with usually an impressive range from wide-angle to telephoto. This means that you have the same creative freedom as with an SLR, but without the need to carry different lenses and you don't have to change lenses for every situation.

For most situations, such as documenting vacations, photographing pets, or even taking quality portraits, a bridge camera offers more than enough options to achieve great results. And actually for a fraction of what an interchangeable lens system will cost you.

20232023May02_1622-Enhanced-NR.jpg

All-In-One

One of the biggest advantages of a bridge camera is the built-in lens. With an interchangeable lens system, you have to invest a lot more in lenses to cover the same focal length range that you have with a single bridge camera. Not only does this add up to a lot of costs, but have you ever carried a complete set of equipment around with you all day? The extra weight you carry around with you is also not to be underestimated. The fact that you don't have to change lenses also has a practical advantage. You don't get dust and other dirt on your sensor.

20232023May20_2261-Enhanced-NR.jpg

Personal Experience

I have photographed professionally in the past, and yes, I also still have my SLR camera with a few lenses. But my SLR camera is now a very outdated model. I haven't been taking professional photos for a long time now. Of course, photography is still in my blood, and for a long time, I thought I had to upgrade my camera to a new one. I continuously kept an eye on the releases of new cameras and every time I concluded that I couldn't justify the costs to myself. Life is expensive enough, unfortunately. And yes, of course, a hobby is important, and that may cost something. But I started to wonder more and more whether I REALLY needed an expensive SLR and all the expensive lenses. Or that I would also have enough possibilities AND quality with a bridge camera for the photos I take now.

20232023Apr27_1211-Enhanced-NR.jpg

Times Are Changing, So Did My Perspective

When I earned my money with photography it was different, I earned the camera back. Not anymore! But in that time a few other things also became clear to me, and that is that to post photos on social media, for many of us, the only way we use photos, that superior image quality is not necessary at all. That is why I decided to take a step back and opt for the comfort of a camera with an all-in-one lens, I consciously chose to save my back by going out with much less weight from now on, and I saved myself a lot of money because I no longer have to invest in different lenses to have a complete range. I save myself stress because if I am photographing a mushroom now, and 100 meters further a deer crosses, I can still take that photo, without having to change a lens first. Not that it has happened so far, but hey, it is possible!

Honestly, taking pictures has become more fun for me, and much more relaxed. I no longer have to think in advance about which lens I'm going to take. And I don't have to lug a heavy bag of lenses around with me all day when I go out to take pictures. The times when I was annoyed because I had the wrong lens on my camera are over, and I dare say that my bridge camera delivers the same image quality as an SLR or mirrorless camera with a budget walk-around lens. I think that for a lot of 'photographers' who mainly take pictures for social media, blogs or even printing medium-sized prints, a bridge camera is more than sufficient.

20232023May14_1952-Enhanced-NR.jpg

My Conclusion

Today's bridge cameras can easily handle most photographic challenges. And you don't have to compromise on creative freedom. For 90% of 'photographers', SLR cameras and mirrorless cameras with all the associated lenses are often unnecessarily expensive overkill.

All images in this blog are shot with my bridge camera - Nikon P1000

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center