Madeira's Landscapes Seen From the Ocean + Spotting Dolphins

It was time for us to go sail the Atlantic ocean while traveling on Madeira. It was actually a part of a tour we booked and got to sail on a catamaran. Our end goal was to go to an island that is uninhabited and forbidden to go but this is the subject of another post. In this post, I want to show you how Madeira island looks from afar. You can get a totally another perspective when looking at the island from the ocean.

DSC_0510.jpg


DSC_0509.jpg

Overall, Madeira is one huge mountain. It is obvious on the island but especially apparent when seen from further away. There are no flat areas, except one relatively small spot on higher altitudes. It's quite amazing to see how all the civilization is situated on steep slopes.


DSC_0513.jpg


DSC_0514.jpg


DSC_0512.jpg


DSC_0578.jpg

We also managed to see some dolphins who came to check out the catamaran we were sailing. I had never seen dolphins in real life before so it was pretty cool. I tried to get some photos of them.

DSC_0517.jpg


DSC_0527.jpg


DSC_0528.jpg


I also found some ocean depth maps for this area and it's crazy to think that in the spot we were sailing the ocean depth was over 2 kilometers and we were not even that far away from the island. There was a net, on which I was able to sit and look down below into the water. It blows my mind how much empty space is under me. I imagined that what if all the water disappears suddenly, I would just fall a couple of kilometers down.
DSC_0537.jpg

This is the island that we were going to. Took us about 2.5 hours to sail there but more about why it's uninhabited and forbidden to go by yourself soon in the upcoming post, stay tuned!


Don't forget to participate in my monthly weather game and have a chance to win 10 HIVE! here. Game is open until 17th January.



Untitled-1.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now