A day of work

I had a couple of hours before my next appointment and I decided to spend them on the beach. I took a hat, some sunscreen and a bottle of water and I was ready to go!

Oh, I almost forgot, my camera bag too. Despite what you might think, those two hours by the sea aren't going to be fun, not at all. This is not a day of vacation, it is a day of work.

I am diving for one more time, not in the sea but in my memories. In the time that I was a photographer for a travel magazine, a job that offered me the opportunity to see many of the beauties of Greece but rarely enjoy them :)

I began my route from Naxos, the capital of the island with the same name, heading south. Some of the finest beaches of the Aegean sea are there and I was eager to see and capture them!

Untitled-1.jpg

linebreak.png

Agia Anna

My first stop was at Agia Anna, very close to the town, very busy but still beautiful. It was July after all, as it is now and I wasn't expecting to find any secluded beach with no people around. But it is still early, let's move further to the south!

_MG_3337.jpg

_MG_3340.jpg

linebreak.png

Maragas

This one is a very long and diverse beach. There is a place for everyone here. Either you want sun-beds and water-sports or loneliness and rocky scenery, you'll easily find your spot!

_MG_3345.jpg

_MG_3348.jpg

_MG_3353.jpg

_MG_3358.jpg

_MG_3359.jpg

_MG_3360.jpg

_MG_3361.jpg

linebreak.png

Mikri Vigla

If you are into kite surf, you'll definitely find your tribe here. Mikri Vigla is a well known meeting point for surfers and it is almost impossible to not find a bunch of them struggling with the waves.

_MG_3375.jpg

_MG_3388.jpg

_MG_3393.jpg

_MG_3400.jpg

_MG_3402.jpg

But even if you don't feel very adventurous, there is a second part on the beach ideal for sunbathing and relaxing by the sea!

_MG_3368.jpg

linebreak.png

Aliko

We are now more than 17 kilometres (10 miles) from the town and things are getting more tranquil. The golden sand and the inviting turquoise waters are always there but there are less people and more desire to leave my camera aside and jump in the water :)

But I have to go on!

_MG_3405.jpg

_MG_3409.jpg

_MG_3411.jpg

linebreak.png

Pirgaki

I can't imagine this place crowded. Pirgaki is huge and well protected from the north winds. It looks ideal for swimming for hours!

As you can see from the pictures, I didn't have the courage to go any closer. It was already noon, it was getting very hot and walking all the way to the sea and back just for a couple more shots seemed totally crazy!

_MG_3417.jpg

_MG_3419.jpg

_MG_3421.jpg

linebreak.png

Agiassos

That's my last stop for this little journey. Agiassos is 25 kilometres (15 miles) from the capital and although I can't call it secluded it is very close to it!

The only thing left is to decide if I am going to be on time to my appointment to take photographs of a hotel in a while or jump in the sea and get myself fired :)

_MG_3423.jpg

_MG_3429.jpg

_MG_3433.jpg

linebreak.png

All the pictures and the words are mine.

Thank you for reading and if you want to know more about me you can check out my introduction post.

Commenting, upvoting and rebloging are highly appreciated!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center