Alpine Ascent to Johannisberg (3453m)

In July I joined a guided alpine tour to ascend Johannisberg. The peak is located next to Großglockner, the highest mountain in Austria. It's a rather easy hike relative to the height but you still need full glacier equipment. The tour was split into two days with the first just to reach a mountain hut, where we stayed the night, and the second with the ascent and full descent.

363A1180.jpg
The peak of Johannisberg the day before the ascent

As so often, I couldn't leave my camera behind even though the weight of the glacier equipment was already quite substantial. And as so often, I don't regret it because there was a beautiful sunset in the evening we stayed at the hut, and the scenery was amazing.
363A1231.jpg

363A1223.jpg

363A1220.jpg

While the weather was pretty bad on the first day (except for sunset luckily), a blue sky waited for us in the morning of the second day.

363A1232.jpg

363A1234.jpg

The default route up Johannisberg is up and down its Eastern side (left the picture above) but our guide decided that we'd go up the Western flank and descend on the Eastern side. Turns out this was the much more difficult route because the Western side consists of an exposed ridge with pretty loose rocks. I couldn't take many pictures during the ascent but here's one where you can see the route a litte bit:

363A1244.jpg

It was the most difficult alpine endeavour I did so far in the end and I was happy with how it went because I felt pretty confident most of the time. And the views were not so bad up there either.

363A1238.jpg

363A1241.jpg

363A1246.jpg
The view on the Großglockner

Thanks for reading my post! Life is about learning and I'm always looking forward to your feedback. Let's connect!


Links

🙋🏼‍♂️ Intro Post
🌎 Website
📷 Instagram
🦜 Twitter
🎬 TikTok

NFTs

⚫️ Foundation
🌊 OpenSea

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center