Cereal Leaf Bettle

The cereal leaf beetle or Oulema melanopus is a significant pest for some crops, especially in cereal plantations like wheat, corn, or other small grain crops.

But since there are no wheat or small grain crops in my area, they seem to feed on the corn plantation which is usually planted seasonally by the farmers around.

According to wikipedia they usually reproduce once a year, and the adult will hide during winter and emerge back in springs. I am not so sure how fast they will reproduce here in Bali because we don't have any winter in our season.
It was pretty windy on the day I went out to get these photos, so I hope you all like it, even though it is not sharp enough.

This is also my first entry into @photofeed Macro Contest. I hope that I don't break any rules and guidelines. : )

separator2.png

separator2.png

separator2.png

separator2.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency