This bird let me get pretty close to take pictures


pictures-4122.jpg

I hope he is ok

break.png

A few days ago when I was taking pictures of my flowers, I noticed a small finch that didn't fly away like all the other birds do when I got close.


pictures-4123.jpg

I noticed it hanging out on the ground and then when I got closer to it, it jumped up into my sunflowers and was trying to hide.


pictures-4124.jpg

I could tell from its feathers that it wasn't in the best shape and it may have been injured. So I didn't want to get too close and stress it out too much.


pictures-4125.jpg

Luckily, I had my 200mm lens on my camera so I didn't have to get too close. It allowed me to take some pictures and work on my focus with this lens. This lens takes a bit of practice to get the focus right, especially at close ranges because the shallow depth of field can throw the focus off pretty quickly.


pictures-4126.jpg


pictures-4127.jpg


pictures-4128.jpg

I hope that the bird made it through the remainder of the day. I made sure to put out some fresh bird seed so it was able to get a meal and build up some strength. I haven't found any dead birds in the front lately, so I think that it was able to recover from whatever was making it not fly up with the others.


pictures-4129.jpg

It was pretty cool being able to get some shots of the bird just chilling on my sunflowers. I really like the details in the feathers.


pictures-4118.jpg

As I was taking the other pictures, there were hummingbirds flying around getting some food as well. It was cool to get a shot of one of them just chillin in my tree. Usually they hide pretty well up in all the leaves and it is impossible to see them.

It has been pretty cool having bird feeders up this year. I have had so many interesting birds show up in my yard.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments