Glowing Without the Gimmicks

The area of skincare is where my minimalism truly shines through. I absolutely refuse to get caught up in the whirlwind of capitalism and overconsumption.

While I agree that skincare is one of the best and most rewarding areas where we could invest our resources—I mean, the results speak for themselves—I did swear that I would not be the person that bought the latest shiny trending product on social media.


Designed Using my Image by Canva

I mean, these things are expensive! I best believe that if I buy a product, I am using it until I can see the bottom of the bottle. I don’t care if it works or not; it must finish.

When I initially became curious about skincare, I searched the internet for a straight and simple formula I could use. I wanted to get three or four products max. But I kept coming across videos where girls would whip out baskets of products; I didn’t want that.

So I consulted my sister😊✨. Thank God I had her, because if not for her, I would have given up on skincare altogether. She is the opposite of me; when it comes to skincare, she’s obsessed. Walking into a skincare product store for her is like walking into a candy store as a child. She becomes excited.

So I told her my issues and had her recommend things for me. And she did; she even bought them for me as well. I mean, I paid for them, but she did the market run😅. That day, I ended up spending twenty-two thousand naira on these products😪—just in case you were wondering, I was not okay after paying!

She kept reassuring me that the money was worth it and that within a week I would be happy I did it. I bought Simple face hydrating moisturizer, cotton pads, glycolic acid, and sunscreen. And she helped me create a routine too.

So basically in the mornings, I bathe and wash my face with my body soap, then I apply salicylic acid to my face (she gifted me the salicylic acid) with the cotton pads. After this, I apply my moisturizer and then my sunscreen. I also apply deodorant and my Nivea cocoa body lotion as well.

I try not to use the salicylic acid every morning because it has a drying effect but it helps with my pimples.

At night, I wash and dry my face; I put some glycolic acid onto the cotton pad and apply generously on my face, avoiding my eyes and lips. I then let it dry and apply my face moisturizer, and that’s it.

I use the glycolic acid twice a week, for now. As time goes on, I will use it more frequently. Apparently it helps brighten the skin and correct dark spots. And glycolic acid is to be used only at night.

I do not apply body cream and deodorant at night because the cream will make me sweat, and I figured that since deodorants aren’t exactly healthy to use, there is no need for them at night. It’s not like I do anything strenuous while sleeping that will cause me to sweat.

Oh, and I apply my Vaseline on my feet. I don’t like to use body cream on my feet because it dries out quickly. So Vaseline keeps them moisturized for longer. It’s also a good substitute for lip balm. I use it every day.

And that is it, my simple care routine!


Thanks for Reading🤗🤗


Images used are mine...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center