A Little Care, A Beauty Skin: Content Over Quality

My face without a pimple is a mission impossible
I don't have a good skin, too dry!
I wish I had the kind of her skin, so smooth.

There was almost no words I didn't say because of the dissatisfaction I had about my skin long before now. With mum still struggling with face acne at her age, I thought my skin issues will never go away since I took after her in almost every physical features including the dry skin.

Trust people to make things worse for you in that situation... They never got tired of making comments about how badly my face looked, too many pimples and acne. I also had this scaly skin on my legs, it was so bad that during the dry season (summer) it begins to peel off leaving my skin whitish and not good looking.

IMG_20241022_080147.jpg

All that led me into the search for skin care products that would save my skin. And to do that, I never did it the minimalist way as I used just any product recommended to me that it would work. Let me not even talk about the number of empty skin care containers I keep in my room to know which worked a little and which of them made things worse for me.

You know the act of doing too much, no freedom or peace of mind and nothing changes?

I think that is the opposite of minimalism and it was my situation when I thought I could change my skin predicament that way. I was too clouded with the thought of hating my skin even more than I felt people hated it, that I lost the peace of mind that comes with being contented.

IMG_20221202_144117.jpg

IMG_20220730_134433.jpg

Well, nobody advice me to love myself better after a long time. Looking back, these pictures are from like 3 years ago and I'm surprised I wasn't even looking bad at all but the truth is, at that time, I didn't like my skin. I used all kinds of skin care to feel a little confident about my skin.

I remember buying different kinds of body wash, scrubs, soaps and facial cleanser, with the hope of looking better but for about a year now, I've gone the Minimalist way. Honestly, I'm surprised I could actually feel this way about myself and how my skin feels or look, what changed?

Mum influenced this decision in me greatly, she is a minimalist to a really great extent as I've watched her and even learned some ways from her. She introduced skin care aids for me and I've been feeling a lot confident about my skin than I ever did. If only we had lived together all my life, maybe I'd have felt this way from a long time ago but it's still good.

IMG_20241022_080244.jpg

Now, I make my own skin care products from soap to cream and my love for good oil has increase. I make use of a baby oil on my body and a DIY facial cream on my face, a combination of aloe Vera gel and turmeric. Minimalism is close to nature and using natural things just felt so right, I've learned about the great benefits of turmeric on the skin and I created my own body cream with it.

Even though I'm using an oil I bought, I have other kinds of oil mum made for me in small containers I use every now and then. Things have been much easier, very cheap and convenient for me with these products.

InShot_20240126_102304452.jpg

The body soap I use is also a DIY product, combining turmeric and black soap. Mum made them and they do not only make my skin look better, it also brings this calm feeling whenever I use it. The soap since it's a diy is not well packaged or look good but believe me, it's everything my skin needs for a good feel.

It's not that I have a great skin since I started using these but I've grown to love my skin more. I don't go around finding many skin care products in pursuit of having a glowing skin but instead I've found the peace of mind that comes with loving myself, doing little and still feel like I have a beauty skin.

All images used are mine
20240101_094050_0000.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center