Sunday, football & Me

Greetings!


I know it's not possible, but I keep wishing for the day to be longer than 24 hours. It's funny because whenever I say this to a friend, they often tell me that since I can't manage my 24 hours, I wouldn't be able to manage a day that's 72 hours long. And honestly, that’s true. Most of the times, I get busy to the point that I'll be begging for extra hours to be added to the day.

I'm not officially employed; I mean, I don't work for someone else. I own the business that I'm running, and I'm trying my best to manage it as if I were employed by someone else. That's where I had to employ myself. Although I don't get busy all the time, it’s hard for me to leave my work spot, which takes up all of my time. The only day that feels like a free day to me is Sunday.
Since that's the case and I can't find time to go out often to bond with friends and unwind...I don’t have many friends in my real world either. The one thing I find truly enjoyable, which makes up for it, is going out to watch football matches on Sundays.

Yeah, once I do that every Sunday evening, I feel like I’ve caught up with all the fun I was supposed to have during the week, just like everyone else does.
I’m a football lover but not much of a noisemaker. Watching live matches, especially those involving two fiery teams, and laughing at the banter that comes with it is a whole lot of refreshment. It has a way of rewiring my body system, and at that moment, even if I was heartbroken before watching the match, that pain goes away.

Sometimes, I stream matches on my phone when I’m too busy to go out, but on Sundays, I don’t joke about going out to watch football because it’s far more entertaining to watch a match in the midst of sports-loving people than to watch alone.

It feels awkward to shout "goooaaaal" loudly in your room as a way of cooling the adrenaline, but when you're out, you can shout it at the top of your voice, even hugging people around you. At that moment, nothing beats the joy that fills the heart.

The place where I usually go to watch the match is a betting shop, not too far from my house. It’s a betting shop with a space for customers to enjoy football matches. I don’t gamble, and thankfully, they don’t have restrictions on non-customers.

The most interesting thing about the place is that we don’t pay to watch the match, so it’s not like a 'football arena' where people pay to watch.
So with this, I don’t spend anything; it’s a free groove on a Sunday.

During periods when football isn't being played, I struggle, but one good thing is that if football goes on a break, it doesn’t last more than two weeks before a worthy match shows up. So, football is a thing of forever!
Today is Friday and I can't wait for Sunday to come for me to go and cool off my head.

Thanks for reading.

This is my entry to #slowlivingsunday.

Photos and gif are mine

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments