Staying Fit.

Staying fit became one of my priorities from the moment I realized the importance, and I have done my best to stay on track with my daily fitness routine. It was quite challenging at the beginning for me, but embracing the challenge was one of the best decisions I made for the sake of my well-being.

It all started some years ago when I started taking this fitness thing seriously. In a bid to get a perfect place for morning exercise, I and my younger sibling combed the community where I lived searching for a gym. It was quite a tough finding somewhere that ticked all the expectations we had, but eventually we did and couldn't wait any longer. We made the necessary payment and set out the next morning to kick off with our fitness journey.

To my surprise, the gym was pretty filled up, and since it was my first time there, I felt really uncomfortable. I just couldn't cope with the numbers and despite my brother encouraging me to just focus on why I came there, I just couldn't cope.

If I had known they had a lot of people using the place in the morning, I wouldn't have enrolled. I and the gym instructor had a chat about the issue, and he said the only thing he could do to help me was to reschedule me for an evening session, but my schedule was tight, and that was the end of my time at the gym.


The idea of purchasing some fitness items crossed my mind, but my little space can't accommodate more than it does; otherwise, it would become cluttered. I definitely wouldn't want to start readjusting my possessions just to create space for equipment. I got some second-hand equipment offer on a WhatsApp declutter page but after rethinking my fitness goal, I had more reason not to purchase the equipment.

I figured out that my fitness goal was just to stay fit and nothing more. I wasn't after building sixpacks or muscles—there is nobody to impress with them anymore, I just wanted to be healthy.

I started doing situps indoors and finally settled for an early morning walk/jog. I covered a very small distance daily, but it counts very well for me, and gradually, the distance increased as time passed. Sometimes, I take the main road, and sometimes I want to have a small feel of nature so going through the streets with trees/bushes worked for me.

Walking in the morning hasn't just helped me stay fit physically; it helps me mentally as well because it's one of my ways of practicing mindfulness.

That silence and calm atmosphere I enjoy while walking very early in the morning is something I can't get again during that day, so that morning time is golden to me.

While shopping some months ago, I came across a skipping rope in a store, and since the price was very affordable, I got it for days when I feel too tired to embark on my morning walk, and instead of doing nothing, I just do skipping outside my flat.

It would interest you to know that all I have been using for my fitness routine are very few things. They are one sneaker, a track trouser, one short, two pairs of tops, and a skipping rope. I do replace them when they get old, and that's all.

My approach to staying fit doesn't sound much, but it is quite effective, and since the results are very visible, I do not see myself changing things anytime soon. Aside from the simplicity in my fitness routine, I find it really comfortable, and it doesn't affect my minimalist values.

This reminds me of someone who teased me about not having a concrete fitness goal just because I don't lift weight or do other tough workouts. I just laughed and didn't know how to make him understand that I was okay with my simple routine.

My fitness routine, coupled with living healthy, has helped me stay fit both physically and mentally because fitness doesn't end with appearance for me. I don't condemn other people fitness routine and even when my brother tries teasing me, I remind him or anyone that regardless of what our fitness routine are, we all have one goal which is to stay fit.

All Image Are Mine

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center