Beautification | My Simply Effective

It took witnessing my cousin’s transformation to realise just how bad the condition of my skin was. I also realised that I conditioned my mind in the most negative way towards my body and the way I take care of it. I believed that all I needed was a bath, but that is not the case. All this I would learn after spending a week with my cousin and friend.

By the time I came to this discovery, I had to make the conscious effort of taking care of my skin. The first misconception I had to get rid off was that the products were all expensive and that skin care consisted of very complicated and long ass routines. This I believed thanks to a bunch of ASMRs I came across thanks to TikTok. The safest option was going with the choice of my cousin. I saw the results on her, plus as a beginner, I had no idea what I was to do.

I started with Dr. Rashel Vitamin C face serum and Dr. Rashel Sunscreen 60++ SPF, switched my cream to St. Ives body lotion, and Dr. Rashel black mask.

Before I decided on the SPF 60++, I had to google what it was, its purpose and possible side effects. Naturally, I have a taste for the best and this particular formula was safer for long hours under the sun. I do a lot of field work. This was the best option and at $1.83 (N3000) with good reviews.

Dr. Rashel Vitamin C face serum also had awesome reviews and the results were visible on my cousin. At $1.52 (N2500), this product was perfect for me. It gave my skin an afterglow that I really enjoyed and after three months of constant use, I noticed the reduction in the dark eye bags I had. My mom too. Her complexion seemed to pop and the dark circles around her eyes also became almost non-existent.

I have always had an issue as to what kind of lotion I should be using. I have switched so many times because of side effects and some negative reactions of my body. My cousin convinced me to get St. Ives (Hydrating Vitamin E and Avocado) that I use till date. This has to be the most expensive of my products at $5.48 (9000). I did a lot of research before deciding on this lotion. I am fair in complexion and have fallen victim to products with bleaching agents. My research told me that St. Ives doesn’t bleach. It oils and preserves the nature of your skin, it also highlights your complexion and its range of products has a purpose for different outcomes.

I use Hydrating Vitamin E & Avocado because it moisturises and hydrates. When I couldn’t find this one later, I made do with the Collagen Elastin that renews and rejuvenates. Truly, it did the job and I have never had any cause to complain. I still prefer the Vitamin E oil & Avocado because of its scent. It appeals to my nose.

The black mask I got later due to white heads. They are always in excess on my nose. I used to give facials when I took a few months course at a barbing salon, hence, I knew how to go about it. Since I don’t own a facial vaporizer, I take a towel (after a shower or washing my face), soak in hot water and squeeze it all out. I press my face with the hot towel to open my pores and then proceed to cover my face with the mask, avoiding the sensitive parts like directly under my eyes and eyebrows.

When it is completely dry, I peel off and press my face with another hot towel. Then, I dry and apply the vitamin c face serum and then my lotion. I do this twice a month. The black mask cost me $1.22 (N2000) and it does the beautiful job of peeling away the white heads.

My day to day routine is somewhat different. I go from shower to face serum, then lotion, then sunscreen. Same thing at night except the sunscreen. There are other products in this brand line but I stick to what I can afford. Besides, I know that more steps than necessary would not just be hectic on my pocket but also my time.

So, I stick with these simple steps and I reap and love the results. I have been asked severally by women both middle-aged and young on what I use. A girl walked up to me at the mall and asked how my face was so smooth. I gave her the secrets which were no secrets at all. I don’t know if she took them and if they worked for her but what I know is these products have really helped my skin improve.

ALL IMAGES ARE MINE

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center