Alternative Weekend - On the radio

This theme is about music outside the mainstream, but what is 'alternative' can vary for each of us.

Logo
Pinched from @slobberchops. I'm sure he won't mind.

Like many people I have been working from home lately as so have been listening to the radio more. A lot of channels just play what is in the charts or 'oldies', but I find that boring. My station of choice is BBC 6 Music which is marketed as an alternative music station. They can still play 'classic' music when it fits a theme, but in general you are likely to hear something new pretty often. Like other stations they do have a playlist and so certain songs pop up a lot. Some of those have got stuck in my brain and so I am sharing them with you today.

I found that all these artists on Bandcamp where you can also find my debut album.

Gustaf - Design

Gustaf are from Brooklyn and seem to be four women and one guy. This song is angular art pop with a nice bass hook. I thought it was called Desire.

Dry Cleaning - Scratchcard Lanyard

Another song with a bass hook from this London band. The vocals are more of a spoken word piece than a song with the band rocking out behind it. There are some interesting lines in there with a repeated one of 'Do everything, and feel nothing'.

Sleadord Mods featuring Billy Nomates - Mork n Mindy

I had heard of [Sleaford Mods](https://sleafordmods.bandcamp.com/] who are a British duo who can get quite political in some of their songs. One is about government advisor Dominic Cummings. This song is based around a repeating loop, but others are just bass and drums. The singer has a very distinctive voice.

Goat Girl - The Crack

Goat Girl are an all female band from London and have a bit of a retropop vibe. The video is weird. I am sure making videos in the current times presents some challenges.

Madlib - Road of the Lonely Ones

I believe Madlib is a producer from California, but I do not know much about him. I think the drums (that may be a sample) on this captured my attention, but the smooth vocals are nice too. I listened to his album and this song stood out for me.

Arlo Parks - Caroline

Arlo Parks is a poet and singer from London with a great voice. She reminds me a little of Corinne Bailey Rae.

I hope you can find something here to enjoy. What are you listening to?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency