Tiny show at a cafe that never opened - Jamming with the audience (I+Everything)


I followed a friend on his tour in 2015. We went to 9 cities and played some of the most fun shows I've ever been part of. We took our sweet time, spending 3-7 days in each cites, and on our off days, we'd jam and schedule little mini-shows like this one.

After our show in the live house, we had 5 days left and so we asked our friend if we could play at his cafe. The cafe was in an artsy village. This cafe was under construction for 3 years because the owner didn't actually want to open to the public.

It looked open, but it was always locked. Sometimes he would notice someone outside from his favorite spot on the balcony and start a conversation. They'd ask if the shop was open and he'd always said "No, but come in" and then serve you coffee or tea. Then if you asked him how much, he would tell you the price and add "but if you dont feel like paying that is ok".

Obviously his business model was not sustainable, he enjoyed doing construction on the place than actually running it, but it was a really good time the 7 or 8 times I hung out there.

This was the middle of our tour and for this particular city, a bunch of friends from 3 other cities were in town and so I got to jam with friends who had never met before including 2 of the 3 drummers I had performed with (the male and female who look like they know what they are doing on djembe).

I loved this show so much! The show at the regular venue was so damn commercial in this city. They had booked us in between two other shows and so we were rushed off stage despite the fact that some of our friends had arrived late due to traffic (actually that night, we had found an abandoned rooftop to perform for all the people who had missed the show).

The video was filmed after I had finished all my regular songs and I asked everyone if they wanted to jam.

I didn't know I had this video so I am ultra excited to share it with you! It was taken by a friend who is a graffiti artist. I really need to get back in touch with him.

I think this is the most ME thing I've ever shared here. This was my life from 2012-2018, and I am trying to re-spark this kind of life in a very different environment and situation now.

I hope you enjoy it!

932C025C-555F-4AAE-8E37-459C12C63BCE.jpeg

🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎🌎

Check out my Books 📕 Music 🎸 Podcast 🎬 and Merchandise HERE

Confessions of the Damaged 1.1 and 1.2 novellas - Out now!

20220602_205651.gif




F4CD1B1ECCD442A1B52D9F956DCA8A5B.gif

Come to Hive Cross Culture and share your life


▶️ 3Speak

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center