Mister Blue Sky

When I first started working with my choirs, I wrote some quite ambitious song arrangements of pop and rock classics. This was one of the trickier ones, though the singers love it and it goes down very well as an encore at a concert. Mister Blue Sky was a hit for The Electric Light Orchestra back in 1977. I was just ten years old but I remember it being on the radio.

I always record the songs I arrange, so the choir members can hear what the finished article is supposed to sound like. From that initial recording, I also create rehearsal tracks for the different sections of the choir.

I work in Logic Pro X on iMac and at the time I recorded this demo, I didn't have much idea what I was doing to be honest. I just did my best from a singing point of view to get a good recording, because I didn't know how to manipulate the sound at all. I think there might be a bit of reverb on it but that's it. I hope it doesn't hurt your ears.

Thankfully, since then, I've had a lot of help from a very dear friend who knows so much more about music production than myself. Listening back to this now, I can hear mistakes in the production side of things. Maybe one day I'll record and remix it again.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center