Entrevista: MKVL Prod. (Rapper/Beatmaker) (ESP/ENG)

¡Quisieron Líderes! Hace unos días que no me paseaba por su mundo para entrevistar a alguien, pero cuando escuché hablar de MKVL Prod. supe que tenía que conocerlo. MKVL es un artista de Tacotalpa Tabasco y acaba de lanzar su segundo álbum de larga duración titulado "4U".

MKVL Prod. es un artista del género urbano, con un estilo que mezcla rap, reggaetón, trap y romanticismo. Lo más impresionante es ver cómo ha logrado producir todo su álbum él mismo y sacarlo adelante en un lugar donde la cultura independiente aún no está completamente desarrollada.

Antes de comenzar la entrevista, tengo que contarles una cosa, en mi mundo, los dragones son conocidos por guardar tesoros valiosos, como joyas y oro. pero la neta, aunque también me gustan acumular esas madres, yo agrego algo mas a esos tesoros, guardo algo que considero igual o tal vez para los más románticos más valioso: la música.

Por eso considero preciadas estas pláticas merecen ser compartidas con ustedes.

Y bueno sin más hermanos y sin hacerla tanto de emoción, les comparto nuestra charla.


¿Qué tal líder, mucho gusto cómo estás te puedo decir Cheo o MKVL?

MKVL Prod: Quisiste líder, andamos muy bien y tranquilos, espero que estés igual, hermano. Y por lo otro, puedes llamarme como quieras líder. Si quieres puedes decirme mi amor ya en confianza. Aunque, desde que era niño mi familia y amigos más cercanos me dicen Cheo, y desde hace un par de años, muchos me conocen más como MKVL. Tú y cualquier otra persona puede llamarme como quiera, con qué sepa quien soy, yo feliz.

Bueno... Cheo ¿Cómo te sientes al lanzar "4U"? ¿Cuáles son tus primeras impresiones en estas primeras 24 horas?

MKVL Prod: Pues, te seré sincero, desde hace unos meses que ya había acabado toda la postproducción del álbum, me venía sintiendo nervioso. Principalmente, porque es un proyecto muy diferente a la música que le había estado ofreciendo a mis oyentes. Decidí arriesgarme un poco a más géneros para poder experimentar y, sorpresivamente, me sentí mucho más cómodo y feliz haciendo ese tipo de música. Y hablando de mis impresiones las primeras 24 horas, siento que fue muy bien aceptado el álbum, colaboré con artistas que ya tenían experiencia en el género, los cuales me ayudaron y aportaron demasiado para conseguir lo que buscaba lograr, y así poder crear las joyas que ahora un dragón me quiere robar. Muchas personas me escribieron que les gustó el álbum, y con eso estoy más que satisfecho.

Yo no te robare nada, solo quiero compartirlas por que eso es lo que se debe hacer con las joyas, pero dime, ya que mencionas que invitaste a rappers que te ayudaron en tu objetivo principal ¿Por qué decidiste involucrarte de forma muy personal en la producción de todas las instrumentales de tu álbum? ¿Es un asunto de presupuesto? Me refiero a que al ser un artista indie tienes que sortear en estos momentos todos esos gastos y solventarlos tú mismo de alguna manera? ¿Qué fue lo más difícil y lo más fácil?

MKVL Prod: Desde hace tiempo decidí empezar a crear mis producciones, tanto las instrumentales, la mezcla, las voces y la masterización de la mayoría de mis proyectos, y si, una de las principales razones fue el presupuesto. Una gran parte de estudiantes como yo, que en ese entonces iba en la prepa, pues no tiene el dinero suficiente para solventar los gastos que conlleva a una producción musical. Y la verdad, aunque me escuche codo haha, tampoco quería pagar algo que sabía que, con algunos cursos e inclusos diplomados de producción musical, eso me podría salir gratis. Y así fue como empecé a estudiar en mis tiempos libres y aprovechar ese dinero que iba a invertir en instrumentales y másters, en mi propio conocimiento. Siento que lo más difícil fue encontrar el camino correcto que necesitaba seguir. Con esto me refiero a que, habiendo tantas maneras de producir, tanto en programas, plug-ins y técnicas, pues, tenía que encontrar la manera correcta de que mi voz y la instrumental bailaran en la misma sintonía, y lo más importante, los mismos decibeles, para darle ese correcto volumen a mi música. Creo que lo más fácil es que, como soy el creador de mis producciones, puedo experimentar y jugar con las melodías, los tonos y los géneros de mi música. Aún sabiendo todo esto, agradezco a esos productores y beatmakers que me han ayudado a encontrar este camino. Acercarse a otras personas que hacen lo mismo que tú y aportar sus experiencias entre ambos los hará crecer de una forma más real.

Que verguisima algo así me imaginaba, eso para mi gusto ya te hace ser un artista multifacético, pero me gustaría escuchar tu opinión ¿Cómo te defines como artista? ¿Cómo describirías tu estilo musical?

MKVL Prod: Sabes, nunca me habían preguntado eso y es algo que me tomaría tiempo definir. Realmente, Sergio y MKVL a pesar de ser la misma persona, son muy distintos en la forma en la que tratan de expresar emociones. Uno siempre trata de ser el mejor cada vez que compite consigo mismo, y algo que tienen en común estos dos personajes, es la metodología en las que hacen las cosas. MKVL es el reflejo de los sueños de Sergio. Ambos siempre están en constante cambio, así que me va a llevar tiempo definirme como artista. Siempre estoy en evolución. Mi estilo musical, por ahora, lo llamaría experimental. Como dije, la música es como la ciencia, siempre está en cambio y descubrimientos, así que yo trato de ir al mismo ritmo que ellos. Me gusta ir a la tendencia de lo que los oyentes escuchan, y gracias a eso, adaptarme a nuevos ciclos de cambio en mi estilo musical. Mi principal esencia como artista, es el cambio.

Sabes de donde soy se habla mucho de rituales y cotorreos de ese estilo, ya sabes cosas de personajes míticos, ¿Tu tienes alguno a la hora de grabar o componer?

MKVL Prod: Hahaha personajes místicos diceee. Algo que siempre hago al momento de componer, o bueno, escribir una canción es hacerlo en la noche, siento que mi cama es mi safe place para desahogarme al momento de escribir. Creo que la noche es la inspiración que necesito para componer una joya.

Y si pudieras elegir una canción para ponerla de soundtrack en alguna película o serie de Netflix o de tu plataforma para ver películas favorita, ¿Cuál canción sería y en que película o serie la pondrías?

MKVL Prod: Qué joya haha. Escogería sin problema la canción New York, y sería el soundtrack perfecto para la primera temporada de You (serie de Netflix). Principalmente porque la serie se basa en un hombre enamorado (enfermizamente obsesionado) de una mujer, y haría hasta lo imposible por quedarse con ella, lo mejor es que está ambientado en Nueva York. Y el soundtrack perfecto sería mi canción New York, porque es una historia de un hombre enamorado de una mujer, que lo único que quiere es demostrarle que lo más importante en su vida es ella, y le propone escaparse a Nueva York para vivir siempre por esos rumbos. De indocumentados, obvio.

Pues no sería mala idea intentar contactarlos, alguna manera debe haber para futuras temporadas o secuelas como lo hacen los artistas que escuchamos y ahora que menciono a otros artistas ¿Cuáles son tus principales influencias musicales? ¿Quiénes son tus artistas favoritos?

MKVL Prod: Tengo un gran repertorio de influencias musicales en mi vida diaria. Existen muchos artistas muy conocidos que son mis principales influencias. Cuando conocí el mundo del Rap, lo hice gracias a la canción Big Poppa de Biggie, y a partir de ese momento mi mente explotó con un gran repertorio de artistas. Después comencé a escuchar mucho a J Cole y Kendrick Lamar; para mí, estos dos son los más importantes actualmente en el rap. Cambiando de género y metiéndonos más a lo urbano y latino, podría casi asegurar que mi principal influencia sería Álvaro Díaz, gracias a que conocí sus canciones, fue que sentí esa atracción por querer experimentar con el reggaeton y el trap. No dejando atrás, obviamente, a artistas como Bad Bunny, Yzy A, Mora y Feid, quienes también forman parte de mis influencias. También artistas no tan reconocidos como me gustaría que lo fueran, tales como: Baby J, Fntxy, Rmand, Nsqk y un compa ahí que le dicen el Logan Hate, creo que a ese no lo topas. Pero, el principal artista que siempre he admirado y que realmente puedo decir que es mi principal influencia es Mac Miller. Siempre trato de dejar un poco de su esencia en mis producciones.

Si los topo como no, recuerda que soy un dragon milenario, no soy cualquier baba de perro, sobre todo conozco a uno de esos ruines que mencionas que me debe una. Por último líder y para no quitarle más tiempo ¿Cómo te sientes al estar en un lugar donde la cultura independiente aún no está completamente desarrollada? ¿Qué crees que se necesita para cambiar eso?

MKVL Prod: Realmente me siento bien y tranquilo. Me gusta pensar que en algún futuro digan que logré aportar, aunque sea un grano de arena, a la cultura independiente en nuestro estado. No todos tenemos la facilidad de luchar por un puesto en las disqueras multinacionales, y sorprendentemente muchos artistas de renombre actuales son independientes, así que no se sorprendan si dentro de unos años podamos tener un gran artista en nuestro estado. Por eso mismo me gustaría ver unida a toda la escena independiente y cualquiera más que se quiera sumar, de nuestro estado. Tabasco es un lugar donde hay mucho talento pero poco apoyo. Yo quiero aportar un poco de lo que he aprendido a lo largo de mis pocos años como productor y artista, así que si alguien que va empezando o ya tiene recorrido me pidiera consejos o incluso apoyo en algún proyecto, si está en mis manos, sería feliz de apoyarlo, porque así hacemos crecer esta cultura, por amor al arte.

Como debe de shrek líder, muchas gracias por tu tiempo, espero que te vaya muy chingón líder y pues neta espero escuchar de ti en los siguientes años, algún mensaje para los que te escuchan y para quien te conoce por primera vez?

MKVL Prod: No líder, muchas gracias a ti por tomarme en cuenta para esta entrevista. Agradezco lo qué haces por la cultura. Y pues el mensaje que daría para mis escuchas sería, principalmente, agradecerles por tomarse el tiempo de escuchar mi música. Empecé esto grabando con el micro de unos earpods metidos en una calceta, y ahora lo hago desde un micro mejorcito metidos en una calceta pero ya con bastante conocimiento para mejorar la calidad de mis voces haha. Y pues, finalmente, si aún no topas mi música, te invito a escucharla. Sólo espero que te hayan roto el corazón recientemente para que sientas las letras, porque la mayoría es de desamor hahahaha. Un abrazo amigos y a ti igual líder, por darme esta oportunidad, gracias de nuevo. Gracias por leer, nos estamos viendo, Banda.


Gracias por leer ¡Sigamos apoyando a la música independiente!


English Version

They wanted Leaders! It's been a few days since I walked through his world to interview someone, but when I heard about MKVL Prod. I knew I had to meet him. MKVL is an artist from Tacotalpa Tabasco and has just released his second full length album titled "4U".

MKVL Prod. is an artist of the urban genre, with a style that mixes rap, reggaeton, trap and romanticism. What's most impressive is how he's managed to produce his entire album himself and pull it off in a place where independent culture isn't fully developed yet.

Before I start the interview, I have to tell you one thing, in my world, dragons are known to guard valuable treasures, such as jewelry and gold. but the net, although I also like to accumulate those mothers, I add something else to those treasures, I keep something that I consider equal or perhaps more valuable for the most romantic: music.

That is why I consider these talks precious and deserve to be shared with you.

And well, without more brothers and without making it so emotional, I share our talk with you.


How ​​are you leader, nice to meet you, how are you, can I tell you Cheo or MKVL?

MKVL Prod: You wanted a leader, we are doing very well and calm, I hope you are the same, brother. And for the other, you can call me whatever you want leader. If you want you can tell me my love already in confidence. Although, since I was a child, my family and closest friends call me Cheo, and since a couple of years ago, many know me more as MKVL. You and any other person can call me whatever they want, knowing who I am, I'm happy.

Well... Cheo, how do you feel about releasing "4U"? What are your first impressions in these first 24 hours?

MKVL Prod: Well, I'll be honest, for a few months after I had finished all the post-production of the album, I had been feeling nervous. Mainly, because it is a very different project from the music that I had been offering to my listeners. I decided to venture into more genres a bit so I could experiment, and surprisingly, I felt much more comfortable and happy making that kind of music. And speaking of my impressions in the first 24 hours, I feel that the album was very well accepted, I collaborated with artists who already had experience in the genre, who helped me and contributed a lot to achieve what I was looking for, and thus be able to create the jewels that now a dragon wants to steal me. Many people wrote me that they liked the album, and with that I am more than satisfied.

I will not steal anything from you, I just want to share them because that is what should be done with jewelry, but tell me, since you mention that you invited rappers who helped you in your main objective, why did you decide to get involved in a very personal way? in the production of all the instrumentals on your album? Is it a budget issue? I mean, being an indie artist, do you have to sort through all those expenses right now and pay for them yourself somehow? What was the hardest and the easiest?

MKVL Prod: For a long time I decided to start creating my productions, both the instrumentals, the mix, the voices and the mastering of most of my projects, and yes, one of the main reasons was the budget. A large part of students like me, who at that time was in high school, because they do not have enough money to cover the expenses that a musical production entails. And the truth is, even if you listen to me haha, I didn't want to pay for something either because I knew that, with some courses and even diplomas in music production, that could be free. And that's how I started to study in my free time and take advantage of that money that I was going to invest in instrumentals and masters, in my own knowledge. I feel like the hardest thing was finding the right path that I needed to follow. By this I mean that, having so many ways to produce, both in programs, plug-ins and techniques, well, I had to find the right way for my voice and the instrumental to dance in the same tune, and most importantly, the same decibels, to give that correct volume to my music. I think the easiest thing is that, since I am the creator of my productions, I can experiment and play with the melodies, tones and genres of my music. Even knowing all this, I thank those producers and beatmakers who have helped me find this path. Approaching other people who do the same as you and sharing your experiences with each other will make you grow in a more real way.

How ​​embarrassing something like that I imagined, that for my taste already makes you a multifaceted artist, but I would like to hear your opinion. How do you define yourself as an artist? How would you describe your musical style?

MKVL Prod: You know, I've never been asked that before and it's something that would take time to define. Really, Sergio and MKVL, despite being the same person, are very different in the way they try to express emotions. You always try to be the best every time you compete with yourself, and something that these two characters have in common is the methodology in which they do things. MKVL is the reflection of Sergio's dreams. Both are always in flux, so it's going to take time for me to define myself as an artist. I am always evolving. My musical style, for now, I would call it experimental. Like I said, music is like science, it's always changing and discovering, so I try to keep up with them. I like to follow the trend of what listeners listen to, and thanks to that, adapt to new cycles of change in my musical style. My main essence as an artist is change.

You know where I'm from, there's a lot of talk about rituals and chatter like that, you know things about mythical characters, do you have any when recording or composing?

MKVL Prod: Hahaha mystical characters diceee. Something I always do when composing, or well, writing a song is doing it at night, I feel like my bed is my safe place to let off steam when writing. I think that the night is the inspiration I need to compose a jewel.

And if you could choose a song to put on the soundtrack of a movie or series on Netflix or your favorite movie viewing platform, what song would it be and in which movie or series would you put it?

MKVL Prod: What a gem haha. I would choose the song New York without problem, and it would be the perfect soundtrack for the first season of You (Netflix series). Mainly because the series is based on a man in love (sickly obsessed) with a woman, and would do anything to stay with her, the best thing is that it is set in New York. And the perfect soundtrack would be my song New York, because it is a story of a man in love with a woman, who only wants to show her that the most important thing in his life is her, and he proposes to escape to New York to live forever for those directions. Undocumented, obviously.

Well, it wouldn't be a bad idea to try to contact them, there must be some way for future seasons or sequels like the artists we listen to do and now that I mention other artists, who are your main musical influences? Who are your favorite artists?

MKVL Prod: I have a huge repertoire of musical influences in my daily life. There are many well-known artists who are my main influences. When I got to know the world of Rap, I did it thanks to Biggie's song Big Poppa, and from that moment my mind exploded with a great repertoire of artists. Then I started listening to J Cole and Kendrick Lamar a lot; for me, these two are the most important currently in rap. Changing genres and getting more into the urban and Latin, I could almost assure that my main influence would be Álvaro Díaz, thanks to the fact that I got to know his songs, it was that I felt that attraction for wanting to experiment with reggaeton and trap. Not leaving behind, obviously, artists like Bad Bunny, Yzy A, Mora and Feid, who are also part of my influences. Also artists not as recognized as I would like them to be, such as: Baby J, Fntxy, Rmand, Nsqk and a dude there who call him Logan Hate, I think you can't find that one. But, the main artist that I have always admired and that I can really say is my main influence is Mac Miller. I always try to leave a bit of its essence in my productions.

If I run into them like no, remember that I am a thousand-year-old dragon, I am not just any dog ​​slime, especially I know one of those ruins that you mention who owes me one. Finally, leader and not to waste any more time, how do you feel about being in a place where the independent culture is not yet fully developed? What do you think it takes to change that?

MKVL Prod: I really feel good and calm. I like to think that in some future they will say that I managed to contribute, even if it is a grain of sand, to the independent culture in our state. Not all of us have the facility to fight for a spot with multinational record labels, and surprisingly many of today's big-name artists are independent, so don't be surprised if a few years from now we can have a great artist in our state. For this very reason I would like to see the entire independent scene and anyone else who wants to join, from our state, united. Tabasco is a place where there is a lot of talent but little support. I want to contribute a bit of what I have learned throughout my few years as a producer and artist, so if someone who is starting out or already has a career asked me for advice or even support in a project, if it is in my hands, it would be happy to support it, because that's how we make this culture grow, for the love of art.

As shrek should, leader, thank you very much for your time, I hope you have a great time, leader and well, I hope to hear from you in the following years, any message for those who listen to you and for those who meet you for the first time?

MKVL Prod: No leader, thank you very much for taking me into account for this interview. I appreciate what you do for the culture. And well, the message that I would give to my listeners would be, mainly, to thank them for taking the time to listen to my music. I started this recording with an earpods mic tucked into a sock, and now I do it from a better mic tucked into a sock but with enough knowledge to improve the quality of my voices haha. And then, finally, if you still haven't found my music, I invite you to listen to it. I just hope you've had your heart broken recently so you feel the lyrics, because most of them are heartbreak hahahaha. A hug friends and to you the same leader, for giving me this opportunity, thanks again. Thanks for reading, we're seeing each other, Band.



Thanks for reading Let's keep supporting independent music!


No hype Just Talent-06.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency